Things I've learnt in Asunción - 16 Mar 2011


Advertisement
Paraguay's flag
South America » Paraguay » Asunciòn
March 16th 2011
Published: March 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Just got back from the museum of Paraguayan Football in the bowels of the national stadium. Quite interesting and also the final resting place of Arsenio Erico - but you can read more about him in my article at the end of the month. Thrown in a few photos in case they interest you! Onto things I've learnt.

Old habits die hard (Part1)...almost 8 months of not throwing toilet paper in the toilet and I inexplicably dropped some in there the other day. Instinct.

Old habits die hard (Part2)...for the person(s) who put up a "Stroessner" sticker on the lampost near my house. It isn't the former dictator they are supporting (he's dead), or his son (he's dead too), but the grandson of the man who killed and tortured 20,000 Paraguayans. Find it a bit odd, I mean you wouldn't expect to see "Hitler" in Germany, or "Pinochet" in Chile.

I don't have the stomach for a boycott...my boycott of Masapan for refusing to change the channel to watch Arsenal vs Man Utd has lasted 2 days. While the woman who works on the till is a fool, their food is really great so I can't give it up.

Don't leave your shoes in a plastic bag...because if they are damp from a wet Brazilian football pitch they will be covered in mould. Not good when you are about to go for a important work presentation.

Don't phone Paraguayan radio stations...because they will just put you live on air. The most embarrassing part was not that I had no answers prepared for their questions but after a couple of minutes my phone ran out of credit and I had to re-call from Skype!

Carmen won't cope with London weather...even though we are coming in summer. She asked me to bring her coat today, it is a nippy Autumn day...27c!!!


Question of the week
"What do you study?" owner of local shop
"I don't study anymore, I've finished. I work now." I answered
"Why?"
I was stumped.


@paraguayralph



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb