Things I've learnt in Cerro Corá - 2 Mar 2011


Advertisement
Paraguay's flag
South America » Paraguay » Amambay » Cerro Corá
March 3rd 2011
Published: March 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Last weekend we went on a group trip to Cerro Corá and Pedro Juan Caballero. Paraguay is a beautiful country it is just a shame not many people come to visit. Hopefully some of the photos will change your mind! Now onto things I've learnt.

There is something worse than a dead rat...the three-day old dead rat on my road

I can go to Brazil without a passport...just cross the road in Pedro Juan Caballero and you are in Ponte Porã!

Paraguayans love a glorious defeat...the only reason why they have a bank holiday to commemorate the death of their former president which was followed by their surrender in the War of the Triple Alliance

Tombstones have gone up recently...Mariscal Lopez (see above) just got a new one at 1.3 million dollars!

Petrol stations have bars...which is a bit odd considering the obvious drink/drive consequences. Not as bad as the 4 guys I saw getting drunk at a petrol station while resting their beer cans on the hood of their car.

Cops and robbers is confusing here...when the police arrest a thief only to discover he is an off-duty colleague (true story)!

Question of the week
"Can you lend me 1.500 guaranies" Carmen to me to fund her new-found bingo addiction - we played about 8 times and got 1 line. Broken Balls.


@paraguayralph


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

New TombstoneNew Tombstone
New Tombstone

A snip at 1.3 million dollars
Mariscal LopezMariscal Lopez
Mariscal Lopez

In case you want to see the man himself
Where am I?Where am I?
Where am I?

Brazil and Paraguay at the same time that's where I am!


Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb