El día del fútbol


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador
September 30th 2009
Published: September 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It´s the middle of the work week at La Hesperia and we are tired! Zack and I have spent the past few days doing a lot of different jobs. I´ve been spending a lot of time tending to the vegetable garden - making new garden beds, mixing in cow poop, and other farmy stuff. This morning I took the mule down the mountain with the milk, dropped it off, and rode it back up the hill! Apparently it´s pretty hard to get him to take you all the way up but he must like me. 😊 The work has been really hard, but is making me appreciate how much work goes into running a smallish organic farm!

Yesterday we had a lecture on current and past politics in Ecuador that was very interesting. I dont really feel like writing about it, haha.

This afternoon is the traditional Wednesday fútbol (soccer) game with some of the locals! Zack is very excited about it.

I (me --> zack) spent the morning living a childhood dream, attacking the jungle under the banana trees with a machete. no restrictions, just chop everything that isnt a banana, and if you chop down a banana it isn´t a crime. also got to harvest some bananas, you just chop the whole tree down with one swing of a machete (they are very soft and so full of water it flies out all over the place when you chop them). i spent the whole day yesterday wandering in the forest with a german and a canadian, looking for Tangare trees. We hiked all day, up to the highest point on the reserve (2040 meters) and checked on existing trees from a hand drawn map and collected seeds for the nursery (and eventually reforestation) before the animals eat them. the Tangare is a keystone species to the cloud forest and is endangered because it is valuable hardwood and because the forests are cleared for cattle farming.
i smell terrible and i am going to go lay down to digest lunch.

Advertisement



1st October 2009

Buenos Dias Amigos
Thanks for the blog. It's great to have more details about what you are doing. What kind of milk was it, How are the bananas, How is the food? Are you bothered by insects? How is the weather? Everything is good here. Jake is finally moved and settled into his new apartment in little India ( most of the other families living in his new complex are Hindu) but his new place is very nice , he looks out through pine trees onto a golf course..the deck is bigger but the apartment is smaller, especially the kitchen. Keep blogging, It's always a treat to get your messages.
2nd October 2009

reply to mules, bananas, soccer and Tangare trees
What a wonderful way to end a long day (1:30 a.m.) - finding "we've got mail... from Equador). I'm sure everyone is glad to hear about your latest adventures. I am picturing Emily on the mule and Zack with a machete. The former is heartwarming. The latter is frigthening! Better Equador than our backyard! I'll have to look up a Tangare tree to see what it looks like. How big does it grow? How was the soccer? All is well here. Jake is completely moved into his new apt. Gilly and Gurgi helped! They like the sofa and Jake's bed. Don't forget, if at all possible, to wish Molly a Happy Birthday. She is 20 today!!!! WE're heading to Bucknell for a few hours this afternoon. I'll end... I don't smell terrible as I just got my shower but I have to concede to a little sleep. Keep fulfilling those childhood dreams and sharing your news,. Love Mom/Wendy
2nd October 2009

hola mamacita y papacito
Hola mi amigos, I really like hearing about your trip. I have nothing really exciting to say about America. Except freedom. But me and Sarah had a crazy experience in centennial woods at night with no light but cell phones. We were trying to find a camp fire that Calvin was having and followed directions to where it was but entered the woods on the wrong path. the trail ended up tapering off, and we decided we were in the wrong place and back tracked. Then when we were at a fork and weren't quite sure how to get out (I knew which way to go but sarah was unsure), we heard the sound of someone coming towards us and noone answered to our "helllo?"'s , So I started sprinting down the path towards the exit and Sarah was screaming my name and running behind me. We finally made it out. and met Nick. It was crazy. But I have a very busy schedule and wish I was in some foreign country as well. Have some more fun and bring home some bananas. -Caitlin
3rd October 2009

the food is good!
Hi Joe, The food is actually really good...except the salad because it´s very salty. Not sure why. However we were just informed that the delicious cookies that were made this afternoon for our dessert tonight were eaten by the owner´s dogs! Too bad. The milk is from the cows that they have on the farm. The weather is usually sunny in the mornings and it clouds over in the afternoon, which is much better for work. The temperature (at least for me) is always perfect. Things are going well so far, but maybe a little too much hard labor for me. Zack and I might try to start a research project either together or do two different ones. Then I don´t have to spend so much time macheteing. Glad to hear everything is going well at home/in PA and thanks so much for leaving comments on the blog! Barely anyone else is!
5th October 2009

Blogs, mules, smells etc.
Emily! and Zack! I have checked your blog every day, sometimes twice a day. It has been fun to be able to read what you two have been posting and try to imagine the sights and experiences (and smells). I am looking forward to hearing about the soccer game. Emily - I do not know what about you made that mule so cooperative, but I think you should find out what it is, and take advantage of it. This might be your super power, you need to learn how to harness this energy. Maybe you are the spanish speaking "mule whisperer". Zack, how are your spanish skills improving? Thanks for taking the time to share your adventure with us, and I am looking forward to reading your next post.

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb