Road Trippin it down to the coast...


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador
July 26th 2007
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Nazca Boobie Nazca Boobie Nazca Boobie

Chilling out on Isla de la Plata
After I finished work for good, I decided it would be a good idea to head out to the coast... and so I did, along with my good friends and roommates, Miriam and Oliver. Miriam borrowed Maria Jose’s jeep for the week so we had some wheels of our very own to go wherever we pleased.

We decided to go to Canoa first, which is our favorite beach in all of Ecuador. We chilled out in Canoa for a couple days and then went south to Manta which is a very important port city in Ecuador. We then went to Montecristi, which I am in love with. Montecristi is the birth place of the Panama hat; apparently the famous Panama hat was first made in Montecristi (Ecuador). There was a festival while we were there; hundreds of children dressed up and dancing (reason for this festival is still unknown).


From there we headed south and made our way to Puerto Lopez, where we stayed for a couple days. While we were there, we had to visit Los Frailes (a famous beach there), Isla de la Plata (Silver island, which is swamped with beautiful blue footed boobies) and go
Darren and I at "Los Frailes" beach... Darren and I at "Los Frailes" beach... Darren and I at "Los Frailes" beach...

Looking for hidden treasures... and by hidden treasures I mean cute shells and rocks
whale watching. Puerto Lopez is a cool fisherman town. I loved it; it has a long boardwalk which is fun during the day and at night. Get up early in the morning to go see the fishermen in action.

After we showed off our frisbee skills to the local children, we headed out to “Los Frailes”, which is a reknown beach in he Machallia National Park.


We also organized a boat tour to go whale watching, exploring “Isla de la Plata” (Silver Island) and snorkeling. “Isla de la Plata”, also known as The Poor Mans Galapagos, is a small island about an hour boat ride from Puerto Lopez. It is solely populated by birds; seriously, they are everywhere. This beautiful island is well known for its Boobies and by boobies I mean birds. We trekked around the beautiful island for about 3 hours, trying our best not to distrub their natural setting. After the hike we went to a great snorkeling spot on the island. The second I jumped into the water, I was amazed. We saw a lot of beautiful fish of course, star fish, eals, coral reefs, etc. We then went whale watching. We had spotted a few during the day, from the boat and from the island. July and August is the mating season, so they show off by singing and water dancing.


I am currently in Quito, it is my last week in Ecuador. I will spend the next few days with the amazing friends that I have made here and of course relishing in the beautiful city that has become my home this past year.


Additional photos below
Photos: 54, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Bahia de CaraquezBahia de Caraquez
Bahia de Caraquez

(on the other side of the bay)
Beautiful day in Canoa Beautiful day in Canoa
Beautiful day in Canoa

Chillin out on the beach
Olmito Olmito
Olmito

Our hostel in Canoa ...
Me and Miry Me and Miry
Me and Miry

... eating at Bambu as usual... love that place (Its always my second home when I am in Canoa)
Isla de la PlataIsla de la Plata
Isla de la Plata

Whale Watching!!!!!!!!!!!!! AMAZING!!!!
HUMPBACK WHALES HUMPBACK WHALES
HUMPBACK WHALES

... trying to get some play!!
Whale Watching... HELLS YEAHWhale Watching... HELLS YEAH
Whale Watching... HELLS YEAH

The whales kept on teasing us, but when they finally did something it was just so amazing!!
Hells yeah Hells yeah
Hells yeah

doing her thing...


Tot: 0.247s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 57; dbt: 0.2083s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb