Planting in Gausal


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador
March 27th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

me plantingme plantingme planting

in the garden in Gausal
Principal, Ecuador
Today we woke up and had a quick breakfast of eggs, chorizo, and rice. Then we went to Gausal to do some planting. The walk to Gausal takes about an hour. It used to kill me, but now I enjoy the exercise and Jose tells me that I walk much better than I used to.
When we arrived, we began to plant broccoli, cauliflower, red cabbage, carrots, beets, onions, lima beans, radish, beets, squash, lettuce, garlic, and grass.
The grass is for the guinea pigs.
Jose and I walked to the stream to collect water in 2 buckets. Jose was thirsty so he put his whole face in the stream like a cow. haha. Then we went back to use the water to wet the seeds. I'm paying close attention to our work so that I can make a garden in NY.
We took a break and sat around talking and eating peaches and apples.
Papa went up to his parents old land and made a fire to burn some tree limbs that he had cut down. Jose and I left because papa said he did not need any more help. We had lunch, took showers, I knitted,
the gardenthe gardenthe garden

we worked so hard on this for a month!
and together we did laundry. I got a bad sunburn on my back and shoulders today. Joses mom made everyone a corn on the cob and a boiled egg for a snack with a plate of salt mixed with cumin. And also, a hot drink called Colada, made from strained oatmeal mixed with milk and cooked bananas. So delicious.
Jose and I played cards and then after dinner we peeled a huge bucket of lima beans. I forgot the Spanish word for them (abas), and kept called them Ovejas (sheep) or Avispas (bees). I asked Jose to pass me some more BEES haha, and give me some more SHEEP. haha. He laughed his head off at me.
Well, I'm going to bed because tomorrow we are getting up early to go plant potatoes and other stuff.
Also, I am going to buy a pig tomorrow, seriously, for $30


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb