Lessons Learned


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » West » Montañita
December 28th 2005
Published: December 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

So I have now been here for about a month. Amongst all of the new experiences have been a few lessons too. In my opinion, here are a few of the more memorable ones....

...it is possible to determine which part of your anatomy remains exposed throughout the the night by the misquito bites. Currently I have "patches" on various parts of my body that look like I am suffering from a case of the measles. I figure between the bites and the tanlines eventually everything will blend together and I will become one uniform color, other than glow in the dark white!

...just because you was all of your clothes on a dark colors setting, to avoid the running of dye, does not mean that that you should do it every where. Apparently, here dark setting means a different source of water which is not condusive to having white clothes stay white. I have to say I am now the proud owner of an array of dingy white clothes. Oh well, laundry was never my forte.

....Those little crabs that scurry along the floor of the beach bar at night are not crabs. Yep, you guessed it they are cockroaches and they make the June bugs at home look tiny. The good thing is that they really do not like the light so what I don´t know won´t hurt me.

...It is possible to have someone jabber at you in another language and be able to fully understand what they want but be unable to answer them in the same language. I have had people tell me this before but I didn´t believe them. I know know it is true but I still don´t understand it. My spanish is getting better, slowly...but it is getting better. My latest challange was to get curtains for the French Doors in my room. Although the room is not in plain view it is in sight of a few room and with the hotel filling up I figured a little privacy would be nice. The housekeeping staff does not speak english so I had to rely on my limited spanish to get the point across. To make a long story short, the rough translation was ´I need a curtain because when I change at night it is like a bad movie´Is it crude...definately. Did it bring out lots of giggles.....definately, but it worked! I am just lucky that the workers are very respectful and quite modest.

...It is possible for two people who barely speak each others language to talk for a few hours and have a productive conversation. Granted, it usualy takes 20 minutes to get an idea across which adds greatly to the time factor. For Xmas Eve I went to one of the little bars and shared a few beers with a couple of the locals while we chatted and watched surf movies. Although some of the locals do speak english (more than they care to admit) they are making me speak in spanish....which is good despite how frustrating it can be. Although Xmas Eve was very different this year it was really nice. Xmas day was spent trying to surf, and enjoying the sun and surf. Oh yeah it was also my first real day of work which consisted of sitting at the beach bar with my feet up watching the surfers on the point and getting the occasional beer for those that requested it. I know rough job but someone has to do it!

....Most importantly I have learned the secret ingredient in Piña Coladas. FOr those of you who knew of my quest last year to make the perfect piña coladas it has now been acheived. I will definately be a popular girl at home with those who like this drink.

Well, as you can see I am enjoying...and learning lots...my time here. I have also realized how much I have missed the water the last few years. Surfing...well lets just say that they are not holding a spot for me on the pro tour. I am having a lot of fun trying though. The past two days I have been sick so i was unablr to go in the water and I can´t believe how much I miss it. So, you know what that means....the tide is on it´s way in and it is time for me to go surfing! By the way, my new board is awesome!!!

Advertisement



30th December 2005

Merry Christmas
Hey Nova, I'm glad to hear everything is going okay. Our christmas was good. Jada quit half way through opening presents when opened her baby Einstein! The rest was opened on Boxing Day. I've learned that when she asks for something she means it! She asked me yesterday for a drink, and of course it was right when I was doing something else, anyways she decided she would go to the fridge and get it herself, and brought it down and put it right in front of me! Alright mom I want a drink NOW! Hope you have a great New Years. Scott's taking me out for lunch for our anniversary. Talk to ya next year! Raina

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb