Merry Xmas to Me


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » West » Montañita
December 15th 2005
Published: December 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

It is hard to belive that it is almost Xmas. As the weather is hot and sunny I tend to forget the day is quickly arriving. There are some people who have their trees decorated and on their balcony, but other than that there are not many signs of the festive season. Today when i woke up and was still in a dazed state, I thought it was going to be a beautiful spring day. The birds were singing and what I thought was the rumble of traffic....which turned out to be the surf....just reminded me of spring back home in the city.

For the last two days I have seen Manta Rays Flying above the water. Yes, I know rays are fish and swim in the water but they also fly. When you look out they resemble birds that are trying to take off but only get a few feet before they fall to the water. It was quite amazing to see but unfortunately I didn´t have my camera around. Even if the I did have my camera I don´t think I would have been able to catch them as they were out quite far. Oh well it will be a photo forever engrained into my memory.

Currently I am working on buying a surf board. There is a guy going thome on Monday and he is aware that I want to try his board and possibly buy it. The funny thing is that he is from Calgary and he has taken the same courses as myself at SAIT. All I can say is I sure hope it works out as it would be nice to have my own board. I am also working on having some jewlery custom made. One of the travelers I have met does amazing wire working and the other night we were designing the piece. It will be a chunky silver chain with a blue stone. It will end up being quite expensive for here butI would never be able to get anything like that at home, besides I have told him he needs to show me how he makes the chain as part of the deal. There tends to be a lot of individuals who make jewlrey here and sell them on tables for dirt cheap. The jewlrey that they make is stuff that I would be able to do myself if I actually put my mind to it. The piece thatI am having done will definately be one of a kind and as of right now I can´t even fathom how it would be made. Finally I am looking into spanish lessons. Although my spanish has improved it is really hard for me to see it. I need to start learning some of the basics and currently it is a little bit overwhelming to try and find where to start so I have decided to get some lessons. So, as you can see, if it all works out I may just have a prosperous Xmas afterall! And if it really work out I will be able to converse a little better in spanish.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0641s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb