Cuenca


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » South » Cuenca
July 5th 2012
Published: July 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Banos to Cuenca


From Banos to Cuenca, about eight hour in travel time cost $8 a piece. The fright came when we had to transfer busses in Riobamba. After buying our forwarding tickets to Cuenca, Amei and I walked across the street to a restaurant to grab a quick lunch. We placed our two main bags on the chairs in front of us and I placed our sole handbag with laptop, iPad and camera to the side of me. Amei left for the bathroom and I ordered lunch for us. No sooner had the waitress taken my order that a strange man across from me asked for the time. I gave it to him but he asked again which raised my suspicions. I immediately looked for my bags and the hand bag earlier next to me was now gone. I stood up, swung around and came face to face with another thief holding my bag. Adrenaline pumping, I ripped the bag out of his hand, he muttered something unintelligible, I yelled thief and both crooks tore off down the street at a cowardly pace. I didn't realize I was so frightening. Justice was served though for they got nothing, and in their flight they dropped a cell phone which I turned over to the cops. The lesson learned is to watch out for thieving teams who work together to distract while the other snatches, especially around bus stations.



As for Cuenca, what a beautiful, comfortable and convenient town. The weather is fair, scenic mountains surround the city, prices are cheap, history has built many churches, the park and streets are clean and orderly and there is a sizable expat community. Our hostel Posada Del Rio, was excellent except for the squeaky wood floors, but for $22 a night for private bath who can complain. There are numerous cafes serving good breakfasts, including the Banana Cafe that sat next door to our hostel and was full most mornings. For lunches or dinner we always hit the central markets whereby you can have a hearty chicken, pork or beef plate for around $2 a pop. And the night life is bolstered by a long avenue of bars supported by carousing nearby university students. Cuenca is great for walking but don't stop there. There are nearby Incan ruins and indigenous villages that specialize in hats and silver. And for information, there are numerous gringos running business like book stores and restaurants that are friendly in their time and knowledge. We felt we could spend more time, a lot more time, heck even maybe retirement for it is one of the friendliest places we've visited so far. Cuenca was a nice way to end our travels through Ecuador. Next stop Peru.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0672s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb