Dinner for Semana Santa (Saint Week)


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » South » Cuenca
May 4th 2011
Published: May 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

MoloMoloMolo

Half of a pound of mashed potatoes all to myself. Yay. : /
In Cuenca, I am lucky enough to live with a lady that is from Ecuador. So she helps me work on my Spanish while I help her work on her English. It is also nice around Holiday time when she cooks us traditional food. In Ecuador a lot of the food that they eat for holidays represents something. As for our Easter lunch, we had a dish called Molo. To fully understand what this is and what it looked like you will have to look at the pictures, but I will try to give a good description.
To start out, you get a giant plate and layer it with lettuce and the lettuce represents the forest. Then you pile on a mound of mashed potatoes, which represents the mountain in which Jesus Christ was crucified on. Then you add strips of parsley to signify trees. Then you add this pepper called aji to represent the blood that came out Jesus. (yum) There are also hard boiled eggs and cheese, but I cannot remember what they signify, but I think it is the people and the animals that were there for the crucifixion. Then on the very top of the mound of mashed potatoes there is a large piece of green onion to symbolize the cross that Jesus died on.
All in all, it was pretty delicious. However, all of the stuff that I have described is what goes into one portion. The picture that you see of it is mine. I literally ate a solid half-pound of mashed potatoes all to myself. I felt so sick afterward, but it was definitely a worthwhile experience. Oh, and I also had room for the four different kinds of dessert that we had purchased. Ha ha


Advertisement



18th May 2011

Is that what all the food looks like in Ecuador? oh boy

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0739s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb