Get(ting) Set


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
January 1st 2010
Published: January 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

[youtube=LdjzfyNK7u4]

January 1, 2010 - Get(ting) Set



HAPPY NEW YEAR!!! Here we are, the dawn of a new year and a new decade, and about 1-week away from our 4-month travel to South America.

Yes…we are getting very excited. Yes…we packing and unpacking and weighing and re-weighing our bags. And yes, we are also a bit nervous about it all. I must admit that at least once or twice (a day!) I’ve wondered “What in the heck are we doing?” What was I thinking?” “Are we really going to South American four 4-month?” “Are we nuts?”

But - then I think about every time I’ve made a change; every time I’ve skidded away from my comfort zone and how awkward it felt and how nervous I felt. I also have thought about the following: I do realize why it is so difficult for people to move away from their comfort zones, even if people aren’t happy or healthy in them. It’s so familiar - we know what to expect and we know what is expected of us. And, as the name implies, it’s “comforting” to be in that comfort zone. Nonetheless, every experience, whether large or small, that has moved from outside of my comfort zone, has caused a shift in the way I think; in the way that I see myself and in the way that I see my surroundings and the world.

So, as people continue to ask us: “What are doing?” “Why are you doing this?” as well as “I’m so jealous of you…I wish I could do that…” I realize that what we are doing, even before we ever step foot onto the airplane, is demonstrating the Art of Stepping outside the Comfort Zone…hmmmm - maybe there’s a book in there somewhere???

Well - enjoy the vid…we hope that if this initial one proves successful that we’ll be uploading a lot of little videos throughout our travel.

http://www.youtube.com/user/gadshillfarm#p/a/u/0/LdjzfyNK7u4 (You may have to cut and paste the link)

Con Abrazos a Todos,
La Familia Dunning


Advertisement



Tot: 0.232s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb