hasta luego...


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
December 11th 2006
Published: December 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It's hard to believe, but my 10 weeks in Ecuador are coming to an end. This will be my last post (at least for this trip?). I know I haven't been great about updating lately, but will just try to put up some of the highlights. The rest I'll have to tell you about in person. 😊

One of my favorite places (besides the jungle) was Vilcabamba, which is way south and not far from the border with Peru. It is a beautiful place where you can ride horses, get a full-body massage for $8, or read in a hammock all day long. Vilcabambians(?) swear they live longer on average than people in other places. Scientists actually went down there in the 50s or 60s to investigate this, but found that people who claimed to be over 100 were really 85 or 90. No matter, people there still believe....

One thing I did not end up seeing while I was here was a bull fight. (They are part of Quito's independence festivities.) I sort of wanted to see one but after I saw some pictures was glad not to. They look awful, more cruel than I'd imagined (at least
VilcabambaVilcabambaVilcabamba

another pretty view.
here, but I guess it's pretty much the same everywhere they have them). My friends Marianne and Ciaran went to one, and here's a link to some of the photos: http://www.flickr.com/photos/50372011@N00/

Tonight I'm going to a going-away dinner for my friend Roxane, who you might remember from my earlier posts? She's been traveling for the past few weeks with a friend from home and is leaving for Switzerland tomorrow. So it seems my trip is coming full circle...

That's it. Thanks for reading, people! See you in the cold cold north.

Love,
me



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

VilcabambaVilcabamba
Vilcabamba

Mount Mandango, a popular hiking place (and murderous on the knees)
VilcabambaVilcabamba
Vilcabamba

A view from high...
praying mantis?praying mantis?
praying mantis?

not sure...
purdy flowahspurdy flowahs
purdy flowahs

not sure...
partyparty
party

Friends Heather and Stevie (blue shirt) and Jorge, the bartender/cook at the place where I stayed, who made his special cake for Heather's birthday.
phenomenon?phenomenon?
phenomenon?

no, it’s not a rainbow at night. Just that my flash insisted on going off even when I tried to stop it…
crazy traincrazy train
crazy train

One of the few stretches of the Ecuadorian railway that's still running is called "Nariz del Diablo," because the train zigzags on a perpendicular ridge. Everyone getting a spot on the roof at 6 a.m.
train scenerytrain scenery
train scenery

I’d taken so many photos at the start of the ride that my battery had died by the time we got to some of the more spectacular parts. :( Anyway, here is a nice view...
Laguna Quilotoa Laguna Quilotoa
Laguna Quilotoa

about 4 hours outside of Quito. Known for its emerald water...
Laguna Quilotoa Laguna Quilotoa
Laguna Quilotoa

Hiking down into the crater


11th December 2006

the whole hog?
aargh. there should have been a warning up top. the rest is lovely and though you'll be sad to leave, I'm glad you're coming back, chica. --chhav
12th December 2006

Boa Viagem, Querida!!
Ami, Have a safe trip back. Can't wait to see you and hear all about your adventure. I love your captions, by the way; and the Devils' Nose train sounds interesting! Love you, Tracy

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb