A long journey and an arrival in Ecuador


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito » Historical Center
February 19th 2014
Published: February 19th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone!

So I arrived safely after my rather long 24 hour journey to Quito, the capital of Ecuador. I arrived to my hotel around 1:30 in the morning.

This morning, I woke up around 8 and had breakfast overlooking the historical centre of Quito. I then felt rather lazy so went back to my room for a little while. When I eventually got round to leaving, I had a look around the city centre and saw some of the beautiful churches. I then took a four hour trip South to the Black Sheep Inn, an Eco lodge in Chugchillàn. Good tip from Fi and Dunc- thanks guys! It's amazing here. Once I was settled in, I met the guys who were sharing my bunkhouse and we went for a walk to see some of the animals who share this land with us. I met some lambs, llamas, pigs and chickens.

The lodge is very Eco friendly and gives a lot back to the community. It is run entirely by people from the local area and takes environmental responsibility very seriously (though I'm pleased to report the composting toilets aren't as awful as I had thought they might be.

We had a very nice vegetarian dinner, which is eaten with all the guests staying at the lodge so I got to meet some people from all over the world. Including an English guy who works for Sky and whose sister lives in Bookham. Crazy coincidences!

Tomorrow, I plan to do some hiking on the local area. We're at 3200m above sea level so I hope the altitude won't affect me too much!



X


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



19th February 2014

Ecuador and the lovely Black Sheep Inn
Wow April sounds amazing and I am very envious sat here at my desk on a grey and dreary feb morning in Blighty! I'm really glad that you're having fun at the Black Sheep Inn and think it was worth the trek to get there. I seem to remember those self composting loos being rather nice, as these things go. Michael Palin claimed to have found the best view from a toilet on Tiger Leaping Gorge, but personally I didn't think it compared to the one you're looking at. Can't wait to hear more about your exciting adventures. Lots of love, Fi x
23rd February 2014

Eco friendly hostels
Hi April Glad you have arrived safely in Ecuador - I think you should make a study of eco hostels around the world - we stayed at a superb one in South Island New Zealand called Beaconstone Eco Lodge (again a recommendation from Dunc and Fi). Then you could write a book and never have to work !! Anyway enjoy - lots of love Ali xx

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb