Goodbye to Ecuador


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Otavalo
October 5th 2008
Published: October 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi Guys,

Well here we are, my final blog from Ecuador, I finished at the reserve on Friday, so I have spent the weekend wandering around the Market in Otavalo and in about an hour I shall be making my way back to Quito before my flight tomorrow to Peru!

I am very excited about Peru, although a little worried as my rucksack is really heavy, I can´t figure out what it is, I would n´t mind, but after loosing 1/2 my clothes on the bus a few weeks back, having used most of my shampoo and shower-gel, and eaten all my snacks from home and given up on my big "learn spanish" book I should be as light as a feather... hmmm must be the presents!!! ;o)

So Ecuador has been fantastic, it is a wonderful country that I would recommend highly to anyone! The people are really nice, even to me with my dodgy (OK almost non-existent) spanish and very helpful, Ramiro at the reserve was really good to me, as well as teaching me my new jewelry-making skills and market bartering techniques (basically whatever price they say, half it and then walk away when they don´t agree!) harsh but apparently fair.

Still I had a good week at the reserve, Monday was spent building Blocks in readyness for the wall, in the evening we went to the hot springs in the evening, a swimming pool with very hot water which sorted out my back a treat after the block building all day!!
Tuesday we had a hike up to the cornfields, a short 2 hr uphill type walk, which I had made a fuss that I wanted to go. Ramiro had said he´d let me stay at the reserve, which put my nose out of joint so I pouted for a bit until being allowed to go! After about 1/2 hour I wished that I hadn´t been so hasty in my descision, but I took it steady and made it up to the top of the field, I was so pleased with myself! :o)

Wednesday we went to the school in the local village and dug the vegetable garden, then thursday was brick wall day! Hence the photo of me next the wall! It was good to see a bit of it built as I had been making blocks for it on and off for the past three weeks!

So then Friday I packed up and we left back for Otavalo and here I am! I Had my special Saturday steak plus a beer at the hotel... steak chips and brocolli.... I had been looking forward to it since wednesday as we generally only have one meal with meat in it during the week, the rest of the week was vegitarian, pasta or tuna if we were lucky!! I confess I have an overwhelming desire for a KFC too excpet there aren´t any here which is no bad thing otherwise I would be there! Other things I am missing... yes lamb roast dinner, proper spaghetti bolognase, Chilli and marmite!!

Well I had best dash as I have the last bits to pack and need to check out of the hotel before my trip to Quito.. so speak soon I hope, I guess the next time I write I shall be in Peru!!!!

Take care all,
Love, Lorna xxxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

The corn fieldThe corn field
The corn field

Just a short 2 hour uphill walk from the reserve... but I bloody made it!!! :o)
Views over the reseveViews over the reseve
Views over the reseve

View from the corn field looking back
Oh for a roast beef dinner!!Oh for a roast beef dinner!!
Oh for a roast beef dinner!!

Cows and yes llamas!
Rum: the reserve dogRum: the reserve dog
Rum: the reserve dog

Oh Rum, how I shall miss you, my flea bitten amigo
ProudProud
Proud

Me ´n´my wall wot I built


6th October 2008

Farewell Ecuador Hello Peru!
Highlight of my week is checking your blog Lorna to see what interesting and exciting things you have been up to. Love the photo's and love the fact that you are missing those formidable english things like spag boll and chilli, not too mention marmite. You are obviously having a fabulous time and can't wait till your next blog from Peru and the pictures. Take care of yourself from the Telford Atkinites.

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb