Questions Answered


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Cayambe
March 23rd 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

A few questions from a friend in the states that I have answered. Please be advised that the answers do not reflect the views or values of Peace Corps. The answers are solely the opinion of one Jeremy S. King.

1. How many hookers have you seen? 4 that I know of
2. Is prostitution legal? Frowned upon? Encouraged? celebrated? It is legal and regulated
3. Como se dice hooker en espanol? Prostituta (female) Prostituto
4. What is the strangest food you've eaten? Chicken Heart and head
5. What is the common meal in ecuador? Any type of soup and rice
6. How many poison frogs have you licked? Zero, but I am always looking for them
7. what types of alcho-drinks do you drink? I drink beer - the local beer is called Pilsener and there is another called Club. The indigenous drink something called Chicha. It is made by women who chew Yuca and spit it into a bowl. It ferments and then you drink it. I have heard its good, so its only a matter of time before I have it.
8.Has any P.C. people wigged out and ran into the jungle? Two volunteers also went home for good already
9. Did jeremy wig out and run into the jungle? Nope, still here
10. will it be acceptable for me to not bath and wear only a loin cloth in or around the jungle? You can wear whatever you want, though be prepared for bug bites if you only wear a loin cloth Senor Tarzan
11. same question only in the towns and cities of ecuador. I hope to see you in a loin cloth in the city
12. What happens in ecuador when you yell O-H! We tried once and even the people from Ohio didn╢t respond - disappointing. We have two years to train the country though
13. which way does water drain (like in a toilet)? We are on the equator - as far as I know it doesn╢t drain at all. Which is why the toilets always clog and you are not allowed to put TP in the toilet, it goes in the trash
14. can you jump back and forth on either side of the equator and watch it drain differently? Yes
15. Does gravity still work on the ecuador? No, Sue and I float everywhere. I am surprised that NASA doesn╢t have a base here.

Bear in mind that a few questions have been omitted since this is a posting that will be read by high school students in Circleville, Ohio. The questions about prostitution are valid, because it is a cultural issue and one needs to understand cultural backround.


Advertisement



24th March 2007

Cultural Background!
Way to go Jeremy! This was Hilarious! Thanks for filling our minds with such real life, real culture, and real adventure! Glad to know you are still fully dressing, don't think I could eat any of that stuff myself, I like to try and I value indigenous culture and food... and drinks for that matter... but I'm not sure my stomach would or my mind could, very interesting to know about the drainage around the equator - or lack of lol - and so many thanks for addressing the ever-burning question on the cultural issues de los prostitutos. Enjoy! Sounds like you are having the experiences of a lifetime and I'm sure you and your wife will last it through - hopefully without wigging out and running into the jungle wildly though! Godspeed with the dental drama! Savor the best of everything! O yeah... and I-O! No training for me... Pero, muy Buena Suerte con esto en Ecuador! Paz! Let me know how the Spanish et al are going! Adios! :)
24th March 2007

How about your surgery ???
Hi Jeremy, Happy to hear from you again.!!! Looks like your surgery went well. YOU must get a lot of mail from the students. I had some of the same questions... what you eat... Does the PC supply clothes and equipment you may need when in the jungle.. I assume you go back to a home base each day. I just can't picture my luggage should I embark on such a commitment. Hopefuly you did have imput on your living arrangements... Oh, I do keep you in my prayers that you may be safe and receive many blessings along the way. linda brown

Tot: 0.296s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.2497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb