High up in the Clouds...


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Bellavista Cloud Forest
October 18th 2011
Published: October 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

My little cottage...My little cottage...My little cottage...

isn't it cute? I could hear EVERTHING my British neighbors were saying.
So I spent the weekend in the clouds...in the Bellavista Cloud Forest. This is a 700- hectare reserve in the western Andes about 2000m above sea level.

I think the lodge mainly appeals to avid bird watchers...that being said, the views were spectacular and I went on some wonderful hikes with an English-speaking guide. I saw numerous types of colorful birds, the names of which I can not recall. Birdwatching will likely never be a passion for me but it was fun nonetheless.

My room I thought was a overpriced but the views were amazing! There was 180 degree views from my sitting room. My room was very cold and the wooden walls enabled me to hear all my neighbors comings and goings. On Saturday, they were doing work on my cabin so that disrupted the tranquility a bit. If I had to do it over again I would have opted to stay in the dorms or just done a day trip. The meals were average, the breakfast by far the best meal of the day.

Besides going on the daily 3 hour treks, what I enjoyed most was the conversations I had with fellow travelers. Rebecca and
My comfy bedMy comfy bedMy comfy bed

It was warm after under the wool blankets. I did dare try the shower, though.
Margaret vast travel experiences were an inspiration to me. The opportunity to met new people is what really make traveling such a rewarding experience.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

A TeamA Team
A Team

Linda, Margaret, Rebecca and Me...two brits and two yankees.
Sooo many hummingbirdsSooo many hummingbirds
Sooo many hummingbirds

Birdwatching was fun but don't think it will be my passion.
Rebecca and Margaret...Rebecca and Margaret...
Rebecca and Margaret...

two awesome women.
Hallucinogenic flowers...Hallucinogenic flowers...
Hallucinogenic flowers...

Nope I didn't try them.
Views of the Andes...Views of the Andes...
Views of the Andes...

My camera could not do the view justice...its was spectacular!


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb