New Year in Casablanca


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Atacames
January 1st 2007
Published: January 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Happy New Year!!!!!!!!
After a very quiet christams which I celebrated with some friends in my new house in Quito, and who I just met a couple of hours before... New Year was a bit more exciting. I didnt now where I should celebrate this "big day" which acutally just is a day like every other, no?!
Well, at the end we got an invitation from a friend, whos parents have a house in Casablanca, which is a very nice and rich complex on the ecuadorian beachside, near Atacames. The beach was very nice, perfect water temperature and walking around in the bikini with the sun in the face on the 31. december is something really nice, especially when you'r from Switzerland, and everyone nows, whats the temperature around new year...
Well, the party itselve was great, we still had "chuchaqui" (hangover) from the night bevor but anyway: we started the evening with ceviche de concha (cold shell soup) looks awfull, taste more or less good, for my first ceviche, pretty hard, but surprisingly good. just have to close my eyes before swallawing this black jelly thing... and of course lots of wine, after that we kept on eating and drinking till midnight. In Ecuador they have some special rituals, on new year f.e. you have to jump over a burning doll, which represent some political person or anything. so we all jumped and surprisingly none did get hurt, even thought we had some wine intus... The rest of the party I don't remember everything, but we ended up dancing at 7 o'clock in the morning on the beach, looking the sun coming up and keeping on drinking till we finally got to our pool for a good swim.
New Year was pretty fun and I was lucky to be on the beach instead of staying in the city all the time. It was my first new year out of Switzerland, so I really enjoyed it, lets see what happens in 2007...


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb