Galapagos Islands Cruises


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Galápagos
February 2nd 2015
Published: February 9th 2015
Edit Blog Post

If you've heard of the Galapagos Islands, you know that they were the basis for Charles Darwin's theory of evolution. You might not be a science buff, and that's okay, because the Galapagos Islandshave plenty to offer in the way of stunning tropical waters, interesting wildlife, and pristine wilderness. I took a few cruises through the Galapagos Islands and it's been one of the most unique experiences of my life. If you're thinking about taking Galapagos Island cruises, stop thinking and just book it!




When to Go to the Islands





When I was planning my trip, there was a lot of talk about high versus low seasons. April, May, September, and October are the typical "low months" for Galapagos Island tours. There are fewer travelers and many cruise operators lower their fares during these times. During the high seasons, I was warned that I'd be crammed onto a boat with many other passengers and the rates would be sky high.




In regards to the weather, it's always nice here. From June to December, the water is colder but there is less precipitation so this is known as the dry season. I was going on a cruise and I was sure that I wanted to see the animals that live and play in the water, so I chose to go during these months.




The months between December and May are the "warm months" and more tropical than the dry season. The birds here are quite active during these months. This is the best time for water activities like swimming and snorkeling because the waters are significantly warmer.




Types of Cruises




It was like a veritable smorgasbord of cruise types to choose from. When I first started my planning, I was expecting a couple hours on a boat before I was shuttled back to civilization. Because the islands are so expansive, Galapagos Island cruises last for a few days so you can see everything. On average, most cruises last four to five days and you'll get to see two islands a day.




I went on an Adventure Tour and got to see so much of the islands. We got the opportunity to hike, kayak, and snorkel in this fragile but beautiful environment. My guide was knowledgeable about the ecosystem and ensured that everyone involved knew how important it was to obey every regulation to avoid causing any damage.




I spoiled myself and also took a diving tour and it was a life changing experience. The waters were warm, clear, and gentle. I was passed by sea turtles, startled by Moray eels, and saw remnants of World War II machinery. I was enchanted by sea horses and got up close and personal with sea lions. I was exhausted at the end of each day but they practically had to force me to leave.




The best thing about taking guided Galapagos Island tours is the sheer experience and knowledge of the guides. They made everyone feel safe and our minds were practically bursting with knowledge by the time we wrapped up our activities. We all could feel how fragile these islands are, and we felt much better about experiencing them with the help of someone who cares about them.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0658s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb