Diving in the Galapagos Islands at New Year


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Galápagos
January 2nd 2008
Published: June 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Another year's around... and where I am? again on the southern hemisphere, in Ecuador, exactely in Galapagos.
After my semestrial exams I immediately took the plane to Ecuador, Galapagos for a four weeks holiday, visiting my friends. I did not move around too much, but enjoyed the sun and the beach. Those things I missed most back in Switzerland. Apart from hanging around Puerto Ayora on Santa Cruz I also did some amazing dives. I went with Hotel Silverstein to Gorden Rocks. I must say, last year I dived with Scuba Iguana and they are pretty good as well, maybe even the best dive shop in town, but because a friend of mine was working for Silverstein I went diving with them. If you ever decide going diving on the Galapagos Islands, be aware of the strong current and ask around where at the moment would be best for diving. And if you can go diving with my friend "Monbiche" you are lucky to dive with a good divemaster.
(Ask around in Hotel Silverstein or Scuba Iguana - Best dive shops)

Well we then went to Gorden Rocks, one of the most impressive divesites I've ever been to, apart from the Yongala Wrack in Australia. We saw seaturtles, sealions, Manta Rays and even schools of hamerhead sharks. I could not belive it, but it was for real! I really recommend diving in the Galapagos Islands and I hope some of my ancient divebuddies (hello Dei, hello Gareth ;-)) will have the chance to come to Galapagos (again...) for some awesome diving!

During this holiday we also went to Isabela Island, staying a few days in Puerto Villamil an old fishing village with no more then a thousend habitants. We enjoyed some lazy, relaxing days on the beach without any hurry.

X-mas and New Year I spent again in Ecuador, and it seems like the next turn of the year looks pretty much the same...



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0993s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb