BRIGHTER DAYS


Advertisement
Published: October 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

DOLPHINS DANCINGDOLPHINS DANCINGDOLPHINS DANCING

Wild and free, entertaining us.
BRIGHTER DAYS

As I prepare to say good-bye to the Galapagos Islands I want to emphasize how great it was to dive off the live-aboard. My cozy little room was an unexpected pleasure. Regularly the cook prepared foods I love. There was always tea available just a few yards away. One of my synch cords for my camera broke but I still had one strobe and lots of opportunity to photograph the biodiversity that this area is famous for. The sea teemed with turtles, eels, and sea lions. On one of our twenty foot safety stops at the end of a dive, a group of wild dolphins entertained us with synchronized swimming. My gear was always ready on the dive deck when it was time to dive. Waves slapped the bottom of the bucking zodiac as we sped to our dive entry. Every morning upon opening my cabin door I beheld a new island promising world class diving, and in the evening I witnessed the silent gulls swooping and gliding on the gentle wind currents around our boat before I settled down to sleep. After our last dive the boatman took the zodiac in close to the rocks to show
GALALPAGOS SEA LIONSGALALPAGOS SEA LIONSGALALPAGOS SEA LIONS

The surge and the sun made this dive surreal.
us the pelicans, blue boobies and marine iguanas.

When we got back to port our divemaster took us on a tour of some of the must-see tourist destinations on Santa Cruz Island. I got some nice close-ups of the Galapagos tortoises that I came to see. On the day following the end of our cruise on the Astrea, I took one more day trip with a local dive shop. Then I dried my scuba gear and packed it away.



Most of all when I think about diving here I remember the sea lions and their playful spirit as they burst into view, frolicking in water that churned like a massive washing machine.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

WHEE...LOOK AT MEWHEE...LOOK AT ME
WHEE...LOOK AT ME

Isn't he amazing?
DOLPHINS DOLPHINS
DOLPHINS

There were eight to ten dolphins lingering near us on this safety stop. It was like a three ring circus...you didn't know where to focus, trying not to miss anything.
CLOSE TO THE SURFACECLOSE TO THE SURFACE
CLOSE TO THE SURFACE

It is hard to get a good photo with so much light, but I managed to capture three or four here.
ENJOYING THE LIGHTENJOYING THE LIGHT
ENJOYING THE LIGHT

Sometimes the sea lions seem to be showing off and it is easier to photograph them.
FOOD FOR THOUGHTFOOD FOR THOUGHT
FOOD FOR THOUGHT

So many fish I could not see my buddy and didn't know up from down.
SEA LIONSSEA LIONS
SEA LIONS

Sometimes there were eight or more swimming around us.
ON A MISSIONON A MISSION
ON A MISSION

You must be quick to capture a photo sometimes.
SLEEKSLEEK
SLEEK

Often they just pop into view and swim very close to the divers.
INQUISITIVEINQUISITIVE
INQUISITIVE

He is just checking us out.


17th October 2017
CLOSE TO THE SURFACE

Galapagos
Beautiful. A dream trip....hopefully I'll get there in a few days.
8th August 2018
CLOSE TO THE SURFACE

Brighter Days
Did you get to Galapagos?

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb