San Cristobal, Galapagos: A Summary


Advertisement
Published: January 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My last day in the Galapagos islands is bringing on many mixed feelings. The most obvious things I feel are sadness that I am leaving such an amazing place, but excited to be reunited with my friends and family back in Canada. Living in a place that is so drastically different than Canada has opened my eyes in many ways. It has given me a wonderful opportunity to see (in a small way) just what else the world has to offer. It also has made me realize the things I love about Canada, which I was oblivious to until removed from my lifestyle consisting of these things.

I feel my time in Ecuador has been an equal ratio of work and play, with both instances allowing me to learn and grow as a person. I cannot express enough how wonderful my opportunity at Hospital Oskar Jandl was. Being able to be so involved with the people of San Cristobal was a both unique, rewarding, and educational experience.

Nelly, Javier, Roberto, Analia, Ivan, and Andres Agama (my host family) were such a blessing! Even though I landed on their doorstep as a complete stranger and unable to communicate, they still accepted me as a child and sibling. They made sure I was always fed and comfortable, not to mention entertained!

The friends I made knew my time in Ecuador was temporary, yet they treated me like I was going to be there for life. Even though I looked a bit different and talked ALOT more different they were still patient and very interested in getting to know me, as well as where I came from.

Something I initially struggled with was allowing myself to grow close to the people here. Everytime I met someone and engaged in a conversation there was always this underlying nagging feeling, reminding me that I will probably never see this person again. Any experiences or memories we shared together would be just that, an experience or memory. As soon as I would get onto the plane at the end of my trip I would be leaving these people behind, with the chanced of being reunited scarce to none. It didn't take me long to get over this feeling though, and allow these wonderful people to become a part of my life. This made the process of leaving Ecuador a very difficult and sad one, but will mean that when I return it will be that much more joyful 😉

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb