San Cristóbal and Quito


Advertisement
Published: June 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The Way Mountains should beThe Way Mountains should beThe Way Mountains should be

flying into Anchorage
On Sunday morning we left our boat for the last time. On San Cristóbal Island we went to the Galapagos Islands Interpretation Center, which had a lot of information about the islands, their history, their animals, resources, and people. Then we went to the airport and flew back to Quito. The end of our Galapagos tour!

Galapagos Highlights: The best days and islands of the Galapagos... Everything was amazing and I'm definitely glad I did the longer tour, because although we saw a lot of the animals more than one day, every island had something special that we didn't see anywhere else or that we saw more of at that specific island. So you can't really go wrong when choosing a tour route as it is going to be spectacular regardless! I would definitely recommend a week tour.
Best Islands - Land: North Seymour: Amazing birds! Definitely the best day for birds!
Water: Around Santa Fe: That was the day that we went swimming with 12-15 sea lions, playing with them. And also turtles, eel, and fish.

In the evening, most of our group went out for dinner, to a fondue restaurant. Cheese and chocolate fondues and meat that we grilled on our table. The whole meal was delicious and it was a fun last dinner! I had a good group of people to spend my last night of my whole gap year with, eating great food, laughing, and basically just having a good time.

Then bright and early Monday morning (actually it wasn't even bright because it was too early...) I got on my plane home. 3 flights and 18 hours later I was home. Flying over Canada and Alaska we had gorgeous views of mountains. And then I was met by my parents at the airport and went home. Traveling over. For now...


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Back to Alaska!Back to Alaska!
Back to Alaska!

View from my house


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb