Galapagos - the experience


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Galápagos » San Cristóbal Island
November 25th 2008
Published: November 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

On day one we are wisked away after dinner for snorkeling. We have not been in the water more than twenty minutes when we encounter a Marine turtle about one and a half feet across and two feet wide. It floats gracefully towards us eyeing with idle curiosity the big gangely, cumbersom creatures in front of it. Sun shines turquoise water onto it´s back. It looks wisely into my eyes, turns and glides away unimpressed. Sea lions soak up the sun on the shore. I swim along hoping to encounter one in the water. I do. A large grey bull male comes up behind me barking something that I roughly translate as ´this is my bit of water so piss off´I attempt to do so as swiftly as I can. He glides effortlessly past me ignoring my flailing limbs. I gain more confodence after this, the sea lions aren´t any threat to us as long as we pose no threat to them or their young. The younger ones are inquisative and twist and tun in the water around us as graceful in the water as they are cumbersome out of it. I feel quite privillaged to swim with this amazing creature.

The days zoom by. Breakfast followed by snorkeling in the morning then lunch followd by a trek then dinner a drink and laugh with my fellow passengers then bed.

The variety of spiecies we encounter is mind blowing there are turtles, Sea lions, Marine and Land Iguanas, Sting rays, Flamingos, Friggots, Blue footed Boobies, Albertros, Pelicans, Penguins, Torties, Crabs, Sharks and many varient of brightly cloured fish.

At night I sit on the top deck and watch the sun set orange and red straks across the horrizon over a dark silky sea. I feel very tranquil and calm in the moment.

Sometimes after snorkeling we jump off the top of the boat twenty foot or so into the water below. It seems higher but is probably less. The current wooshes us to the back of the boat we climb back on board and run up to the top again for another go. It´s a hell of a rush and a great hangover cure.

In some places there are maze like channels formed by the rocks which we snorkle through descovering brightly coloured fish at every turn.

The islands vary in age the youngest Floriania is reconed to be seven hundred thousand years old. Larva flows are still visible frozen in time. Pioneering plants and animals have just began to live there such as cactus and hardy little lizards. It is a rocky and barren place and feels like the begining of time.

On the older islands silver grey trees are abundate. They crouch low to the redish or black rocky landscape providing shade in which Albertros, Friggots and Blue footed boobies nest.

On the last days snorkeling we saw three huge white tipped sharks cruiseing below us. The largest was a least as long as I am tall if not longer. My heart pounded. I was so excited to see these amazing creatures up close, swimming effortlessly below displaying there calm menacing graceful beauty.

Advertisement



28th November 2008

Sounds shite
I prefer driving in traffic on a cold monday morning, heavy rain and road rage.
30th November 2008

yeah same here. i am glad to be out of the sun and water and fun. it was suckie and and this sounds even suckier.
17th December 2008

blue footed boobies... heh heh

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0858s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb