Alicia is Spanish for the Devil


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Centre » Riobamba
June 25th 2010
Published: June 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The Devil HerselfThe Devil HerselfThe Devil Herself

Alicia. I am not a dog person as it turns out.
Not really, but the story is...

I'm dog sitting this weekend for my friend. And by dog sitting, I mean, devil sitting. As you can see from the photo, Alicia is super cute, but the cuter they are, the worse they are. My friends has basically trained her dog to poop and pee on cement since she spends most of her time on a cement porch. Oh hey remember my last entry, yeah, my entire house is a cement box. And the dog likes to bark at strange noises, which maybe isn't that bad when you live in a small city, but when you live in the campo, such as I do, the passing flock of sheep is frequent. So I'm having a bad weekend. The total list of why I'm having a bad weekend is provided below:

1. Yet again, I had another sudden onset of sickness. I've averaging a high fever about once a month
2. Lost my electricity
3. Devil Dog and the lack of sleep associated with it
4. Devil Dog and my allergies associated with it
5. Devil Dog's poop on my floor
6. I finally made my second batch of compost and over
Sheering SheepSheering SheepSheering Sheep

Me and Hilda
night an animal broke into it and destroyed it and trampled all over my garden as if the compost wasn't enough
7. It was sunny out but as soon as I started my laundry, it started to rain
8. I washed my clothes in the rain
9. I hung my clothes up over night, and when I awoke the next morning, the line had snapped
10. I had to re-wash my clothes, it's still raining

And I had a moment where I was like, eff this. I could be in the states right now making $60,000 entry level working for Exxon Mobil living in Bauxmont, Texas. So I wrote a pros and cons list. Actually, I started writing out a pros and cons list and only finished the cons when all of a sudden there was a knock on my door (though you couldn't hear the knock over the barking of Alicia).

One of the kids in my town needed help with his school report and wanted me. So I left the dog behind and went to their house. And I had like the best time ever and I took a bunch of photos and received a bag
Sheering Sheep 2Sheering Sheep 2Sheering Sheep 2

Its way harder than it looks. I tried and totally stunk at it.
of potatoes for my efforts. Oh and when I returned my neighbor fixed my clothes line for me. And of course, life lesson emerges!!! (I don't know if you've noticed, but I like talking about these stupid metaphors and moments of enlightenment way more than talking about the places I've gone.) My pros are the people of Capulispungo, which is a town of 700 so unless my con list can reach 701, I have no reason to be that upset. Plus, life will be so much better once I ditch the dog.



In other news, we had a training in Cuenca. I don't have any photos of Cuenca because that was the second time I was sick, but on the return trip I stopped at these totally awesome Inca ruins, Ingapirca. Some photos are included for your enjoyment.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Sheering Sheep 3Sheering Sheep 3
Sheering Sheep 3

Hilda and her son.
Cuy TreatmentCuy Treatment
Cuy Treatment

This cuy has a skin problem and Hilda and her son are treating it with this medicine.
Cuy TreatmentCuy Treatment
Cuy Treatment

An up close look.
Feeding TimeFeeding Time
Feeding Time

Me and Hilda
Left UnfinishedLeft Unfinished
Left Unfinished

The interesting thing about Inca's and their ruins is that they did not use any mortar, just cut to fit stones.
The Inca TrailThe Inca Trail
The Inca Trail

You may have heard about this existing in Peru, but I bet you didn't know it went all the way up through Ecuador as well.


Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb