Chilling in Cotopaxi


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Centre » Cotopaxi
May 16th 2009
Published: June 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


After a busy 2 days in Quito shopping around for great last minute deal (which we got) for our cruise boat in the Galapagos we decided to head out of the city for a couple of days to chill in the countryside.

We headed to the "Secret Garden" hostel that rests at the foot of Cotopaxi, a snow-capped active volcano in the Ecuadorian Andes. The 2.5 hour trip there was interesting. Our promised "taxi" was actually a ute and since there were 9 of us, and only space for 4 in the cab, 5 of us were in the tray. Squashed in hard against our luggage and 4 strangers that I soon got to know very well, we sped along the busy, city freeway and I kept thinking "gosh how I love the smell of petrol in the morning" as I was praying the flap I was shoved up against wouldn´t fly open cos I wouldn´t be writing this now! If I had put my hand out I could´ve touched the car behind me.

The countryside was so green and lush and lovely. The hostel was even more amazing. Made from mud bricks with a thatched roof, open fire places in every room, no internet or phones and only candlelight by night. Delicious homegrown food (all inclusive). Oh my gosh - we had real cheese. Real cheese and crackers and vino tinto (red wine)! In the fresh moutain air it was crisp, beautiful, relaxing and everything we needed.

Four friendly dogs roaming around (one of the little sausage dogs, "Mash", decided to eat my purple thongs on the last night when I was distracted drinking the vino tinto). Pigs, rabbits, guinea pigs (all of which they eat and no I haven´t tried the guinea pig), turkeys, chickens, ducks, horses (they don´t eat the horses).

Cotopaxi is 5,877 metres and is the highest active volcano in the world.
We walked up her side, to the Refuge, about 4,800m. A killer walk as it is literally straight up. Only took 40 mins or so but felt like hours in the altitude. The views were lovely and the hot chocolate at the end of the walk almost lovelier!






Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

The Perro, the Thongs & Me The Perro, the Thongs & Me
The Perro, the Thongs & Me

"Mash" the mystery thong eater


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb