Camino del Inca


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Centre » Central Highlands
August 19th 2008
Published: November 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Camino del Inca (not to be confused with the famous one of the same name in Peru) starts in Achupallas, about an hour by minibus from Alausi. It is a 2-3 day trip along the remnants of an ancient Inca Road.

As I left Alausi late, I could start the Inca trail only around 1 pm. During the first hour or two I was accompanied by a local couple who insisted to show me the way and carry my backpack in order to earn a few bucks. Initially I didn't want to, especially as the guy clearly had had some alcohol, but finally I gave in. And in the end it was nice not to walk alone, and they explained me some plants etc. The woman would normally not talk, unless I specifically asked her a question. However, she seemed to be the more bright one of the two.

When we reached the high valley, they left me and I went on by myself. I didn't quite make it all the way to Las Tres Cruces where most people camp nowadays, but set up my tent a little earlier, in a remote place with just a few cows nearby. Late at night, when I was cosily tucked in my sleeping bag, I suddenly heard some far away noise. The noise came nearer and I heard men talking, and horses. I was getting quite scared and waited motionless. They were riding around my tent and then strode away. Not sure what they were doing there in the night...

The next day I woke up to find my tent and everything around covered in snow. I took some time, until it stopped snowing, and only then packed up everything. When I was just about ready to leave, suddenly a French woman appeared from the direction where I was going to, followed by a group some distance behind her. They told me that they had camped 2 hours higher up, but that they finally decided to turn back, as there was so much snow (on the ridges up to 50cm, she said). I was thinking for a while and considered turning back as well. But finally I decided to go for it, and it was the correct decision. While it was pretty foggy and cold during the entire day, there was not that much snow and the path was not that difficult. I was pretty cold though, and this time also suffered from the weight. I had taken far too much food for the 2.5 days. So when I met another guy, I gave him some of my stuff, and he was very happy about it.

After crossing the high pass I already saw the Laguna Culebrillas far away in the distance. I didn't quite make it there that same day, but camped by the river just underneath the poor hut of an old man. He said he lives there all by himself. This night my tent was examined by a group of bulls and horses. One bull even tried to look inside my tent. This time I was even more frightened than the night before... In the morning I found that they had drunk the water out of the pot that I had already preparedfor my breakfast... Oh well... The old man then told me that I shouldn't have been frightened, as all his cattle and horses are very peaceful. I shared my breakfast with him, and as the weather was sunny this time I soon moved on.

The path now went along the valley floor and by Laguna Culebrilla. Just when I reached the ruinas of Paredeones I met another French group who did the trail in the other direction. I found this strange, as the main goal of the trail is to reach the Ingapirca ruins, so why start at the ruins and go back to Achupallas?

I reached Ingapirca in the late afternoon, just to have a glance at the ruins before it got dark. The next day of course I spent much more time in the ruins, as they are really quite interesting. Of course not nearly as impressive as Macchu Picchu in Peru, but still a great place in a great setting.



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



9th December 2009

Saludos from Ecuador.
I did the Camino del Inca with some friends, 2 years ago. It is a really nice and hard for me. I´m impressed you did it just by your self. congratulations!

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.098s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb