Day 9 December 16th


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Centre » Baños
December 16th 2014
Published: December 20th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I slept in, by accident, as I was very tired from the previous day waking up around 9-930. Like I do everyday here in Banos, I walked down the street to a local bakery and got 2 breakfast pasteries (like a croussant) and 2 eggs for $0.60. Walked back to the hostel to make my breakfast and proceeded to eat in the courtyard. I then walked around town for 45 minutes people watching and enjoying the nice weather, another day in the 70´s.



I was a little restless as all my friends in the hostel were out and about doing their own things. So I walked down to the bus station and hopped on the next bus headed towards Puyos. I asked the bus driver to drop my off at Rio Verde, the next town from Banos about 15-20 minutes down the highway which costed me $1.00. After getting off the bus, I walked through the very tiny town looking for the Pialon de Diablo (The Devil´s Staircase) which is a very famous waterfall. After asking a local to point me in the right direction, I followed the Rio Verde (Green River) towards the the canyon below.



I walked down this beautiful trail in the Cloud Forest to the entrance. There was a $1.50 entrance fee to the park which goes to a good cause. I walked down this crazy staircase carved into the side of the cliff which puts you right next to the waterfall that is maybe 25-30 meters high. There was also a little trail in the cliff face which I had to crawl on my hands and knees and a few tight staircases that put you directly behind the waterfall towards the top giving you an amazing view. Then across a walking suspension bridge to the other side of th canyon. There I started talking to this couple (in there late 40´s or early 50´s), one was from Argentina and the other was from San Francisco. We started walking towards the entrance of the trail looking for an off trail to head down towards the river.



Eventually we found a small trail, not very used, with a gate blocking the trail. We bypassed the trail and headed down towards the river below. We found a nice spot in the rocks with a little sand and sat down to enjoy the scenery, converse, and eat a little lunch. I had not packed any food but they had plenty and was nice enough to share. The lady owned her own english school in Argentina, they met traveling, and he was convinced to teach and the school which had been doing for the past 8 years. He asked me about the States as he had not been back for 8 years and we had a very intellegent convesation.



After catching the bus back into town (waiting on the side of the highway for a bus to pick me up which took about 20 minutes) I proceeded to take a nap. Woke up and went to this little Italian owned restuarant that had an infusion of Ecuadorian and Italian food which was phenominal. On the way back to my hostel I heard a bunch of loud music and followed the sound. There was a huge fiesta going on. I mingled among locals of all ages and partied until abou 12:30-1am. I think the music stopped around 3 or 4 and the locals were partying in the streets until the sun came up.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb