Baños weekend


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Centre » Baños
April 1st 2008
Published: April 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

A very pretty dayA very pretty dayA very pretty day

My house is the little one on the right.
I had a pretty cool weekend!

I caught a bus after school on Friday and headed to a place called Baños. Its a lot more touristy than Tena is and took about four hours to get there. Its surronded by mountains and a volcano and is very pretty. Baños means baths in spanish and its famous for their natural baths and there are about three altogether in the town. After not having a hot shower for a month, I obviously went straight for the hot pool!! Its amazing how hot the water gets just through the earths/volcanos heat. When I arrived in Baños I met an girl from London and a guy from Columbia and the next day we all when on a bus tour in a special bus called a Chiva. There are loads of them in Baños and they are painted lots of different colours and are decorated in lights and also have seats on the roof so you can get a better view. In the surronding area there are a lot of waterfalls and that was the main focus of the tour. It was good fun and also got to have a swim in one of the biggest waterfalls I have ever seen.
In the afternoon I have to admit I did spend some time watching the cable tv in my room at the hostal as it was a novelty to actually have one and also having another very long hot shower! For $5 a night it was pretty good value for money! I jumped onto another other special touristy bus in the evening and it took us all up one of the mountains and we were able to look at baños at night with an arial view. I think my salsa is getting slightly better, maybe thats just down to much more practise!!

On Sunday, I got up extra early to go to the baths again and even though it was 7 in the morning it was still very busy. After breakfast and some sourvenir shopping, I hired myself a mountain bike and headed off. There wasn't any chance of me getting lost as it was all one long road. It was amazing senery and it was mainly down hill so I got to some pretty good speeds. Half way though my cycle ride I decided to jump off a brigde, Literally!!!!! No, the cycling wasn't that bad, but the hard core adrenaline junky (?) in me decided to do a sort of bungee jump. Its better though as its more like a swing rather than a bungee jump, although its just as scary! I got a Lady to take some pictures for me and they have come out pretty well. Two guys before me stood up on the brigde and then were too scared to go though with it, I showed them how it was done though and without hesitation, jumped!!!!!! (big up to me!!) I cycled for about three and a half hours and when I decided that I had done enough I haled a bus and put the bike on the roof. I then got back to baños and then it was time for me to get on another bus to get home (tena home).

I am off to Quito on Sunday and so this is my last week in Tena. I fly to the Galapagos on Tuesday and then the following Saturday I join up with a group and head off round all the islands. I am sooooooooo excited but it will be weird to leave Tena after such a long time.

kez


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

cable carcable car
cable car

When on the bus tour we stopped here and took a cable car across this canyon to see the waterfall on the other side.
Birthday girlBirthday girl
Birthday girl

This is one of the kids in my class. It was her brithday and her mum brought in cake and jelly! I was good fun and had a party.
walkwalk
walk

we went on another walk with the kids again on the hottest day ever!!!!


1st April 2008

Cool!
As always a great blog entry and more fab pictures! Enjoy the rest of your time in Tena. I'm on holiday at last, yipppeee! Rx
15th April 2008

Oh my goodness. That jump looked rather terrifying. Bet I would have done t eventually though. Wish I had cakes like that on my birthday. I've not had the internet for a couple of weeks so sorry I haven't been in touch. Got lots of deadlines and things to do now as I;ve just got back to uni:( Found out we're going to America, NYC, Niagra and Washingotn etc for the National Youth Chior taour next summer, which I will try to go on so I do get to see the world after all!! Hope all is well:) x

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb