Reflecting on our trip to Columbia, South America


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia
January 21st 2012
Published: January 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

During the past 10 years, I have been given the opportunity to travel through Mexico, Central America and now, for the first time, South America. I can’t help but reminisce about the adventures I have had tramping through so many wonderful Countries. All the countries I visit and people I meet along the way will be etched in my mind forever. So let me share some of my reflections on Columbia, South America:

1. If you decide to go, you’ll get strange looks and questions (“Why would you want to go there…”). One friend said he would pray for me! My brother said his partners told him (jokingly) they would not take up a collection to pay the ransom. Perception and reality are often quite a long way apart. Columbia was out of favor for years, because of the drugs, civil war and political instability. But the times and situation has changed. It is a wonderful place to visit.

2. The People - The people I met in Colombia—Colombians, Chileans, Brazilians, and others—were like most Latin Americans. They were emotionally open, warm, and expressive of love. There was lots of hugging and kissing. People touch each other more and stand closer together in conversation. Cab drivers, servers, bartenders, and people working at our hotels (save 1 person), people we met in the streets, police officers, were open and warm. Moreover, everyone was patient with my Spanish and were willing to help us.

3. The Coastal Cities of Cartagena and Santa Marta. Both cities now have an up and coming area next to the cities. In each, everything looks modern and everywhere you look you’ll see new developments going up – huge high-rise apartment buildings. Very different then visiting coastal areas in Mexico.

4. Safety - we never felt threatened or unsafe. Cartagena and Santa Marta were a buzz of activity during the day. There is an enormous number of tourist police all of which will help you if you need them. We did not feel so safe in Bogotá and in fact if we had not been with a guide we would have been nervous.

5. Red Light District – I was a bit disappointed with this aspect of Columbia. We were offered “girls” twice in Cartagena and once in Santa Marta. We drove through the “pink area” in Bogotá. Obviously, prostitution is thriving in the tourist cities of Columbia. I guess where you find men and especially men on vacation, you will find this type of service industry. I did not like it.

6. Weather - The weather in January is wonderful in Cartagena and Santa Marta. A strong breeze is almost continuous. In Minca, it is milder with fewer breezes. The weather in Bogota is mild to cool all year-round. In Bogota it rains in the afternoon about 90% of the time.

7. Tayrona National Park – I did not want to go to the park. I felt it was a major tourist trap. Patrick talked me into going. I was so glad we went. It was beautiful, tranquil, and just plain fun. You do NOT have to spend the night to enjoy a large portion of the park. We enjoyed hiking through the lush jungle and deserted beachs. On the other hand, if you are a backpacker, Tayrona is a place where you can enjoy nature, swim in clear waters on your own personal beach and camp with safety.

8. The Food – Very different from Mexico. Almost no tacos, sopes or gorditos. They serve bread and not tortillas. What they do have is:

1. Arroz con Coco: This is a very common side dish along the coast. It is white rice cooked in coconut milk with water, salt and sugar and it is yummy!

2. Empanadas: A stuffed pastry that can be filled with beef, chicken and/or cheese then fried. I had some that were good and some that were not.

3. Arepa: A basic side to a Colombian meal. It is a bread made from cornmeal, similar to a pancake -eaten with butter. I did not care for these nor did Lance.

4. Cachapa: Kind of like a small, very fat pancake, it is made from a finely ground corn with a lot of soft white cheese inside. It is much heavier/thicker than a pancake to start so they are grilled on a fire. I liked them, Lance thought they were “ok.” They sell them all over the place on the street.

5. Beef – Oh my gosh, wonderful. When I ordered my first “filet mignon” I could not believe the flavor and tenderness. I ordered it two more times in one week – all three were wonderful (I paid: $12, $14, and $17). Steak of this quality you cannot find in Mexico.

9. Cost – Things are way cheaper in Santa Marta than Cartagena. Hotels, and good restaurants are actually pricey in Cartagena. Both are very reasonable in Santa Marta

10. Hot Water – most hotels do not have it on the coast. Just deal with it. No biggy.

Final conclusion, a really nice country just now starting to gear-up for tourism. We enjoyed our time in Columbia and I am certain you will also!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0296s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb