The Book of Faces


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Tolima » Ibagué
September 1st 2011
Published: September 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I am not on that phenomenon The Book of Faces. Why, well I think that name says it all. Why would I want a book of faces? I mean unless it is from Helmut Newton or Herb Ritts I would pass on a book of faces. Plus it is also known as the social network. Now if there was a antisocial network I would be sooo there. Hey what can I say, those that know me know I am an antisocial person.

I had a look at some volunteers Facebook friends and they seem to average 400 friends. 400, that's a lot. I did see that the average person has about 150 friends which is still a lot for me. Reminds me of a line from Prince's song My Computer. "I can count my friends with a peace sign: 1, 2." That fits me. However as I am traveling I have considered joining. You do meet quite a few people from all over in your travels. As it is now I keep a small 3x5" spiral notebook with me that I use for notes and to write email addresses. I will add notes to them in the notebook or when I enter it into my iPhone such as "Aussie met in Salento" to help keep track of who is who. And of course with the iPhone you can add a pic to the contact address. Of course with Facebook you have a name and email right there. Now would that make Facebook worth having? Makes me think.

Of course not having a Facebook profile is a point of pride for me. So far I have only met 3 or 4 others in my travels who aren't on The Book of Faces. Most everyone seems surprised when you tell them you aren't on.

So I am back and forth on this one. When you travel you meet a lot of people from all over. You also have unique experiences with some of them and those experiences can sometimes even be life changing, but at least they may be part of a good story. Often when I am telling a story or writing for my blog I will wonder, "hey what happened to so-and-so? What are they up to now?" You kinda wonder how did their trip turn out, or where have they traveled to now? But really it would more or less be "hey how are you, where have you been, and where are you going? Me I was there, am here now, and hope to head over yonder soon, take care."

But that is really what my blog is for. I mean really my blog is for me and to try and keep track of what I have done. I can remember more when I write (type) it down. But my mind moves at 100 miles an hour
"> Mazarati 100MPH anyone? But I type only about 35 miles an hour. So I often ramble on and go into these non sequiturs. Like just now typing the link to Mazarati's 100MPH video makes me think about something else so here I am listening to the song and then thinking who was the best Prince protégé or side project? Of course everyone knows it is
"> The Time They were awesome in their own right. But the most underrated of anyone who Prince has worked with is of course "> Jill Jones. Check out her self titled album if you ever get the chance.

So now an hour later, after checking out videos from The Time, Vanity 6, Jill Jones, and the Family here I am and I can't remember what I was talking about. Oh yeah, my blog is mainly for me. I think 3 other people may check out this blog. I do give my blog address and email out to fellow travelers and I have begun reading other traveler's blogs who I have met.

So if I did get a Facebook page it would only be for my travels. We shall see if I ever breakdown and get one.
So tell me, what say you? Is being on the book of faces really necessary?

P.S.
Like I mentioned I have a few blog posts that I am working on. This one is labeled from Ibagué Colombia because that is where I started it, but I am now in Pamplona Colombia, on my way to Venezuela.

P.P.S
OK, I have to leave ya with just just one Prince video. Enjoy "> Prince - Beautiful Strange*


Advertisement



Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 41; dbt: 0.1119s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb