Wishing you a Merry Christmas and all the best for 2014


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Santander
December 22nd 2013
Published: December 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Wishing you the best on this holiday season! This entry will be both in English and Spanish for all my friends

Deseándoles lo mejor en esta temporada de vacaciones. Escribiré en inglés y español para abarcar más amigos.




Dear friends,



Now that we are approaching our biggest festivity, It is such a pleasure to think about you and know that, although we haven´t been in touch for a long time, our hearts are reunited and rejoiced at the thoughts of so many memories lived together. it is time to reflect on the most important festivity of the year and I am taking the pleasure off myself to write you some lines aiming to spread some cheer for a lovely Christmas full of warm season greetings.



Ahora que se aproxima nuestra festividad más importante, es muy grande el placer de recordarlos y saber que, aunque no hemos permanecido en contacto por mucho tiempo, nuestros corazones se reúnen y se regocijan al pensar en todos esos recuerdos que hemos vivido juntos. Es tiempo de reflexionar en esta, la festividad más importante y es por eso que, he sacado tiempo para escribirles algunas
The Orgasm CocktailThe Orgasm CocktailThe Orgasm Cocktail

Oh, yes, this will be my cocktail surprise, it is called "orgasm", maybe it is as good as a cocktail :) I´ll keep you posted
líneas con el fin de expandir algo de alegría por una encantadora Navidad llena de calurosos saludos de temporada.





A joyous holiday season

Felices vacaciones




Christmas is a time to remember and appreciate the lovely gift of having a family, friends and the mere fact of being alive. That is why I can state that as in everybody's lives, after having this year's opportunities to show my best potential, I can say things have worked extremely well, like you, life has awarded me with so many blessings, health, positivism, your friendships and lots of love. i These great values have provided me with such comforts that I have even forgotten about my good habits of self discipline.




Navidad es tiempo para recordar y apreciar el hermoso regalo que es tener una familia, amigos y el sólo hecho de estar vivo. Por eso es que puedo decir que como en la vida de todos, luego de haber tenido las oportunidades de este año para asi mostrar lo mejor de mi, puedo decir que las cosas han funcionado muy bien, como a ustedes, la vida me ha premiado con muchas bendiciones, salud, positivismo, sus amistades y mucho amor. Estos valores enormes me han dado mucho confort, tanto que hasta he olvidado mis buenos hábitos de buena disciplina.




That´s right, you wouldn´t have found on my to-do list words like exercising, reading or studying, whatsoever. As a result, I have put on some weight,,,well,,,some?, which is like committing a crime for somebody whose back is too weak to support a big belly like the one I have now. yeah, for the last couple of months, eating well, having a beer before sleeping and taking some naps after work has got me a record weight of 89 kilos. Wow, I can´t believe that I am saying this but even worse, you could´ve seen my doctor´s face, Omar, when he saw me, last week. “Well, and you used to be so athletic”, Hehehe, “not anymore”, I thought, but I like his honesty, he went like: “Well, I´ll have to put your exercise routine on hold as I know Christmas and the end of the year´s festivities are coming” Thanks, doctor for being so wise and you know what? You did well!.



Es verdad, en las cosas que yo debía hacer este año, no encontrarían palabras como ejercicios, leer o estudiar. Por eso, me he engordado un poco, bien, un poco? lo que es como cometer un crimen para alguien con una espalda que es demasiado débil para soportar un gran estómago como el que tengo ahora. Si, durante los últimos meses, el comer bien, tomarme una cerveza antes de dormir y el acostumbrarme a algunas siestas luego del trabajo me dió un peso récord de 89 kilos. Wow, no puedo creer estar diciendo esto, y aún peor, mi doctor Omar cuando me vió la semana pasada. "Bien, y usted que era tan atlético", jejeje. "ya no más" pensé, pero me gusta su honestidad, El dijo algo como: Bien, mejor pongamos su rutina de ejercicios en espera porque sé que ya vienen las fiestas de Navidad y fin de año". Gracias Doctor, por ser tan sabio y sabe qué? Hizo muy bien!!



Anyway, although this letter might not be that sparkling, I hope it can convey my joy for it also contains my best wishes for a 2014 full of success, happiness and lots of good health so that we can celebrate this happiness period not on one day but all year long!




De todas maneras, aunque esta carta podría no ser tan brillante, espero ella sepa comunicar mi alegría y también contenga mis mejores deseos por un 2014 lleno de éxitos, felicidad, y mucha salud para que así podamos celebrar este periodo de alegría no sólo un día sino todo el año.




2013 coming to a close Se acerca el fin del 2013

Let´s say goodbye to a lovely year... Digámosle adios a un año hermoso...



This past year has been amazing, indeed, I had a phenomenal year full of a large array of opportunities, changes of work, new acquaintances, new experiences shared which I am very proud of. I want to thank everybody who somehow contributed to all this as I have enjoyed every bit of it.




Este año ha sido sorprendente, en realidad, he tenido un año fenomenal lleno de una gran cantidad de oportunidades, cambios de trabajo, nuevos encuentros de amistades, nuevas experiencias compartidas de las cuales me siento muy orgulloso. Deseo agradecerles a todos los que, de alguna manera, contribuyeron a todo esto pues yo he disfrutado cada pedacito.



I have had lots of free time which I spent doing my favourite activity: that is writing and that's how you've seen more entries on my blog as I have travelled more, oh yeah. As everybody, I also had my share of ups and downs but funnily enough, they were rather opportunities for growing and getting better bits of myself and others.



He tenido mucho tiempo libre, el cual he dedicado a mi actividad favorita: o sea, escribir y así es como han visto más historias en mi blog ya que he viajado más, oh si. Como todos, también he tenido mi cuota de altibajos pero curiosamente, ellos han sido más bien oportunidades para crecer y dar lo mejor de mi mismo y de otros.



What to do this Christmas then?

Qué hacer en Navidad entonces?



This Christmas, I am going to help out in the making of masato and tamales, I say this year, yes, for before, I had always something to do, whether it was to prepare a performance for the children, buy gifts or busy drinking, hehe. But I said to myself that these current festivities, things will be different, I have done my shopping well ahead of time, and you should know as you would probably have guessed from my previous entry. :>😉 There won't be any performances as most of my nephews are heading to the coast with their parents, so I will spend my Christmas with only one sister and my parents.



Esta Navidad, voy a colaborar en la hechura de masato y tamales, digo este año, si, porque antes, tenía siempre algo que hacer, fuera que estuviera preparando un acto para los niños, comprando regalos u ocupado tomando, jeje. Pero me dije que en las presentes festividades, las cosas serían diferentes, por eso hice mis compras de manera adelantada, cosa que ustedes deberían saber ya porque debieron haber adivinado en mi pasada historia 😊. Este año no tendremos actos ya que la mayoría de mis sobrinos se fueron a la costa con sus padres, asi que pasaré la navidad con sólo una hermana y mis papás.



Food for Christmas thoughts

Comida para pensamientos de Navidad



Masato is a
the fat Frankthe fat Frankthe fat Frank

89 kilos, nooooooo, poor back
drink made from rice corn and pineapple. You normally ferment the pineapple peel with some beers for some days, adding sugar, cloves, cinnamon, but do not drink too much of it as you can easily get drunk. The tamal is a dish prepared with corn dough stuffed with meat, vegetables, chilies, fruits, sauces and other ingredients, wrapped in planton leaves. This is our core food for breakfast and dinners during Christmas, fattening, yes, not what I need, but who cares, it's Christmas! There is also the natilla which is a dessert that we are not making this year.



Aquí explico lo que es el masato y los tamales, asi que mis amigos no les voy a traducir.



Our family´s Christmas menu

Nuestro menú de Navidad



Well, as an apperitive, I am going to surprise them with a cocktail surprise, it is called Orgasm! maybe inspired in the fact that the Amaretto liquor is Italian and inspired a love affair between a painter and a model. I hope it doesn´t inspire anything here as we will be merely family, Hehehe, three favourite sweet drinks mixed with some spices and that will do the trick for that famous cocktail. As the main dish, we will have a stuffed pork leg with a salad with chicken breast, grapes, green apples, wow, I´d better stop for I am hungry rigth now, and I´ve just eaten two tamales.



Como aperitivo, los voy a sorprender con un cocktail sorpresa, que se llama Orgasmo! Debe de ser porque el licor Amaretto es Italiano e inspiró una aventura amorosa entre un pintor y una modelo. Espero no inspire nada aqui porque estamos solo familia, jejeje, tres de mis bebidas dulces favoritas, mezcladas con algunas especies harán el truco para ese cocktail. Como plato principal, vamos a comer pernil de cerdo relleno una ensalada con pechugas de pollo, uvas, manzanas verdes, wow, mejor dejo ahí porque ya me dió hambre y me acabo de comer dos tamales.




Christmas Carols



I am glad to hear in Colombia lots of English Christmas carols translated now into Spanish, I am right now listening to the translation of White Christmas, which becomes Blanca Navidad; For me, it is kind of weird for we do not have snow here. Some people might say that we are using this metaphore for something else 😊



Me contenta el hecho de oir en español varios villancicos traducidos ingleses traducidos al español. Estoy ahora escuchando la traducción de Blanca Navidad, lo que me parece un poco raro pues no tenemos nieve aqui. Algunos podrían pensar que estamos usando esta metáfora para algo más. 😊


I am dreaming of white Christmas, with every christmas card I write, May your days be merry and bright and May all your christmases be white. Happy Christmas to you all dear!!!!


Estoy soñando con una Navidad blanca, en cada Navidad que escribo, que tus dias sean felices y brillantes y que todas sus navidades sean blancas. Felíz Navidad a todos.



I am now staying in Cucuta, a very hot city in the north of santander, colombia, 30 celcius degrees, but as we are on the rainy season, once in a while, it rains. Here is the place where I have to start making changes to lose weight or maybe later, right? So, you can imagine which my resolution for next year will be, but hey, let's wait until January. I have to tell you that my doctor was right in not asking me to follow a diet or put me on an exercise routine; the chef that lives inside me has been cooking lots and making banana, carrot cakes and sandwiches to share at the novena. so my belly will stay put there for some more time. here between us, they should use me to play Santa's role as I now have the weight.




Por ahora, estoy en Cúcuta, una ciudad bastante calurosa en el en norte de Santander, a 30 grados celsios, pero como ahora estamos en el periodo lluvioso, llueve de vez en cuando. Este es el lugar donde yo debería empezar mis cambios para perder peso o talvez luego, si? Entonces, uds se pueden imaginar mi resolución para este año, pero es mejor que esperemos hasta enero. Tengo que decirles que mi doctor tenía razón en no pedirme que siguiera una dieta o una rutina de ejercicios; el chef que vive dentro de mí ha estado cocinando y preparando tortas de banana y zanahoria y haciendo sandwiches para compartir en la novena, asi que mi estómago va a seguir así por más tiempo, aquí entre nosotros, me deberían usar para disfrazarme de Papá Noel ya que por ahora tengo la panza.



La novena de aguinaldos is a Catholic custom in which families get together to read some prayers and sing Christmas Carols for nine days before the actual Christmas day: from December 15th to 24th. They say that it is, in a way, a recreation of the days spent by Joseph and Mary before baby Jesus was born. In Colombia, it's become such a tradition that in some places, it is also a chance to seeing friends and being convivial as every family hosts the Novena in their houses one of the 9 days and they normally make food for the guests. This year, when it was my sister's turn, I made sandwiches and then we were also assigned a second day when her mother-in-law cooked grilled chicken and meat skewers. Delicious!



Aquí explico lo que es la novena de aguinaldos y que nosotros preparamos en el turno de mi hermana sandwiches y en el segundo día su suegra preparó unos pinchos de carne y pollo, deliciosos!




It is time to reflect on your resolutions for next year

Es tiempo de reflexionar acerca de las resoluciones para el próximo año




I know everyone of us has their own wishes, these are not mysterious gifts from Santa or anything, we want life to be fair, we long for happiness, health and so many treasures. Here is a short list of mine, and I invite you to let us know about yours, maybe the tale of that list will trigger changes to obtain what you want.




Sé que cada uno de nosotros tenemos nuestros propios deseos, ellos no son, por lo tanto, misteriosos, lo que le pedimos a Papá Noel es normal, queremos que la vida sea justa, queremos alegría, salud y muchos tesoros. Aquí les dejo mi corta lista, y los invito para que nos hagan saber sobre los de ustedes, puede que el contarlos provoque los cambios que se necesitan para que se cumplan.



My wishes list for Santa would go like this:

Mi lista de deseos para Papá Noel iría así:




Peace in Colombia now that there is finally hope..so that we can eventually feel safe when travelling anyywhere and that foreigners get to know the most hidden places in our country; if this becomes a reality, they´ll also enjoy the diversity and natural treasures we have. That´s what I was saying to Dave that some years ago, it was such a pleasure to travel to any destination and still feeling secure and I want that back!
No more kidnappings so that people can enjoy life as it is and no more hunger anywhere.
Better medical care for poor people. A cure for cancers, including AIDS and a better treatment for sufferers.
Our government concentrates more on our national problems instead of wasting time on other less important issues.
Our country media shall believe more in our national talent .
People who are in charge of educational institutions should actually concentrate on doing their jobs properly and forget about their own personal profits; this way, they will be able to include everybody in their decisions and give opportunities to all their staff without having any preference for anybody
Better relationships among neighbouring countries so that people whose life depend on the trade among them do not suffer the consequences of political issues which sometimes seem like silly tantrums of spoilt children.
Meet Shakira to give her a song in French I wrote for her to record.
Personally, I ask for my family's health, my personal goals and that all your wishes become a reality!
And if there is still room for some more wishes, I want our country to win the 2014 FIFA worldcup Brasil.






• 1. La paz en Colombia, ahora que finalmente hay esperanza... para que eventualmente se pueda viajar sin riesgos en todos los lugares y que los extranjeros puedan llegar a conocer los lugares más recónditos de nuestro país para que también disfruten de la diversidad y los tesoros naturales que tenemos. Eso es lo que le decía a Dave que hace algunos años, era un gran placer viajar a cualquier destinación y todavía sentir esa seguridad, y eso es lo que quiero que regrese.
• 2. No más secuestros para que la gente pueda disfrutar la vida como es y que no haya más hambre en ningún lado.
• 3. Mejor servicio de salud para la gente pobre. Cura para los cánceres, incluyendo el SIDA y un mejor tratamiento para los que lo padecen.
• 4. Que nuestro gobierno se concentre más en
This will be our main dish, a pork legThis will be our main dish, a pork legThis will be our main dish, a pork leg

It is now being marinated, come and join us this Christmas
nuestros problemas nacionales en vez de desperdiciar el tiempo en otros temas que son menos importantes.
• 5. Nuestros medios televisivos que deberían creer más en nuestro talento nacional.
• 6. Que la gente que dirige las instituciones educativas se concentren más bien en hacer sus trabajos de manera adecuada y se olviden de sus propios beneficios. Sólo así lograrían incluir a todo su personal en sus decisiones sin mostrar ninguna preferencia por nadie.
• 7. Mejores relaciones entre los países vecinos para que las personas que dependen del comercio en los dos países no sufran las consecuencias de cuestiones políticas que, algunas veces parecen como pataletas de niños consentidos.
• 8. Conocer a Shakira para darle una canción en francés que escribí para que ella grabe.
• 9. Personalmente, pido por la salud de mi familia, mis objetivos personales y que todos sus deseos se vuelvan realidad.
• 10. Y si todavía queda espacio para algún otro deseo, quiero que Colombia gane la copa mundial de Brazil 2014.





Here is my favourite Colombian Christmas song:

Navidad que vuelve Tradición del año Unos van alegres Otros van llorando (repite) Hay quien tiene todo Todo lo que tiene y sus Navidades siempre son alegres Hay otros muy pobres que no tiene nada son los que prefieren que nunca llegaran Navidad que vuelve vuelve la parranda en fiesta de Reyes Todo el mundo canta. Traigo un ramillete Traigo un ramillete de un lindo rosal un año que viene otro que se va un año que viene otro que se va Dime si me quieres dime si me queieres Que me adoras más un año que viene otro que se vaun año que viene otro que se va Vengo del olivo Vengo del olivo Voy pa'l olivar un año que viene y otro que se vaun año que viene otro que se va.....



If I translate it, it will lose its charm but it's something like recalling Christmas coming back again, and how some people who have everything, they get merry and all while other people who are poor sometimes wished Christmas not to exist, and it goes on with some rhymes, love rhymes and personal. I love the rhythm and how it encaptures how commercial Christmas has become.




Aquí explico lo de la canción.



Grace and peace this Christmas and throughout the new year, here's a wish to all my friends, although I do not have friends in all countries, maybe, I can make that my resolution for my whole life and understand that this is actually, a very small world:



Gracia y paz esta navidad y durante todo el nuevo año, aquí va un deseo para todos mis amigos, aunque no tenga amigos en todos los países, quizás, puedo dejar esta como mi resolución para mi vida y entender que esto es un mundo pequeño.



African/ Eritrean/ Tigrinja: Rehus-Beal-Ledeats, Arabic: Milad Majid, Chinese: (Cantonese) Gun Tso Sun Tan'Gung Haw Sun

Chinese: (Mandarin) Sheng Dan Kuai Le, Croatian: Sretan Bozic, Danish: Glædelig Jul, Dutch: Vrolijk Kerstfeest en een Gelukkig Nieuwjaar! or Zalig Kerstfeast. English: Merry Christmas, French: Joyeux Noel, German: Fröhliche Weihnachten, Greek: Kala Christouyenna!, Hungarian: Boldog Karácsonyt, Irish: Nollaig Shona Dhuit, or Nodlaig mhaith chugnat

Italian: Buone Feste Natalizie, Japanese: Shinnen omedeto. Kurisumasu Omedeto, Korean: Sung Tan Chuk Ha, Philippines: Maligayang Pasko!Polish: Wesolych Swiat Bozego Narodzenia or Boze Narodzenie. Portuguese:Feliz Natal


Have a lovely 2014


Que tengan un super 2014




Additional photos below
Photos: 103, Displayed: 37


Advertisement



24th December 2013

And a very merry Christmas and happy New Year to you...
...and may all your wishes come true!
24th December 2013

Year to you...
Thanks Bob, maybe one day I can invite you to a tamal and some masato, Merry Christmas!
24th December 2013

BRAVO
I was reading your wish list thinking...will he say it? Yes you did. And may Colombia do well in the World Cup 2014...can't say "win it" as I'm cheering for the Socceroos. Enjoy your Christmas and may 2014 be a blessing for you.
24th December 2013

BRAVO
Well, then, be it, Dave. Final match of the worldcup: Colombia 1, Australia 1, but in the last minute Falcao scores and we are the champions, which is ok for you still be the second winners, Merry Christmas, Dave!
24th December 2013

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!
Christmas time is indeed an opportunity to reflect on what each of us cherishes .... and to look to the future for the 'next adventure'! Merry Christmas, Frank. Sandra
24th December 2013

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!
Sandra, hi, how happy you make me, yes, you put it beautifully and I am sure yours will be excellent too, all my love to Elise and Guillermo
28th December 2013

Happy New Year!
Love your wish list Frank, especially the Shakira one! Hope 2014 brings you much happiness and many travels. :)
28th December 2013

Happy New Year!
Hehehe, thanks, yes, you see, soon she will respond and then maybe...maybe she will accept, I´ll keep you posted. Happy New Year to you two

Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 16; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb