R&R - Barichara, Colombia


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Santander » Barichara
April 15th 2016
Published: April 5th 2016
Edit Blog Post

So after striking out in the so called "adventure" capital of Colombia due to no "adventure" activities being offered I decided to take a bus to Barichara about 15 miles up in the mountains. Barichara is an old Spanish colonial town founded in 1705. The town I'm sure has not changed much in the 300+ years since it was founded. The streets are old cobblestone, the buildings whitewashed, and old Spanish tiles adorn the rooftops. A perfect place to just relax for a couple of days and soak it all in. The landscape surrounding the town consisted of lush green, steep mountains and the mighty Rio Suarez in the valley below. These complimented the town absolutely perfectly. It was like I had stepped back into time.

After I arrived in town I checked into Tinto Hostel which is run by the brother of Sam's back in San Gil. The hostel was really low key, clean, and Javier was really helpful. It was the perfect place and only cost about $8. The day was spent just wandering the old cobblestone streets of the town sightseeing and taking some photos. Lunchtime came around and I would be regretful if I did not try the local delicacy Cabro con Pepitoria or goat's meat with ground goat's intestine on the side. The meat was really good, the intestine pretty much tasted and smelled the way you would think. But as they say "When in Rome", or Barichara in this instance.

Wandering the town and taking in the slow pace of life here was a really great way to kill the afternoon. Once evening came I basically sat in the park and tried not to do much at all. Eventually I went back to the hostal and watched a little hockey and got a great nights' sleep so I could be rested for the hike I had planned to Guane.

The hike to Guane was along a narrow camino cutting through the mountainsides of the Rio Suarez valley. Every turn I was greeted with dramatic views of the river and the mountains that shoot up from the valley. It was nice to be somewhere that kinda felt like Colorado. If anything I've regained my passion for hiking again and this will continue once I return home. The overall trek was about 2 hours and not overly exerting. Once in Guane, not much going on in this tiny town nestled away from the hassle of everyday life. It was here where I was to meet John and Jenny, an English couple who have been married 40 years and have traveled the world together. We shared laughter and great conversation. I was captivated by the stories they told me of everywhere and everything they had done together. I was also a little envious. I should be so lucky when I'm 65 or so.

All in all a great day made even better by randomly meeting John and Jenny. Really great people and I hope someday our paths will cross again. Perhaps next time I go to London. The rest of my time in Barichara I was glad to have recharging before the impending seven hour bus ride South. Soon my time here in Colombia will wrap up and the next adventure will begin. But until then I still have a few more stops up my sleeve.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

jjjj
jj

English friends


Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb