YOU decide...


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Santa Marta » Taganga
March 3rd 2010
Published: March 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

I need your help

I've arrived in Taganga which is nearby Santa Marta on the Caribbean coast. I'll give you a full update later.
It's hot here (although not as hot as I expected), fairly overcast, extremely sticky.
I have the option of going to visit La Ciudad Perdida - The Lost City. Involved is a 5 day / 4 night trek through the rainforest and back again.
The cost is a whopping 500.000 COP but it includes all meals, entrance fees, a guide, lodgings (hammocks), transport to and from the start of the trail etc.

I really can't decide whether or not to do it. 5 days represents a 20th (ish) of my total journey time. Then, everybody who's done it says "just do it". It's supposed to be horribly hard work but totally rewarding.

The problem is that the next tour won't leave until Friday (or maybe Saturday), which means I'll be here for a week at least....I'm still only halfway through Colombia and this will take me to three weeks into the 15 week trip.

What to do?

I know, I'll ask my readers! This is the interractive section. Respond before 1730 UK time tomorrow (4th March) with a comment here or an email or whatever with your vote - YES do it, or NO save it for another time (I know that I'll be coming back to Colombia, there is no doubt).

Of course, if I do it, I'll be incommunicado - you won't get any blog updates for a week. That might be reason enough to send me on my way! 😱

If I'd known this was going to happen I would have set up a premium phone line!

Wow, isn't this exciting? I have no idea how this is going to go!

Get your votes in.
Hasta luego

Advertisement



3rd March 2010

YES!
To quote the famous Greek god of victory: "Just do it!". You don't know WHEN you'll be in Colombia again and if this is one of the major things to do then you should do it. It will be less embarassing than meeting fellow travellers in 3 weeks time and saying "yeah, I was up in the north but didn't bother to go and see the lost city". I should know this feeling - I've lived in Wimbledon (nearly) my whole life and went to the tennis for the first time 2 years ago... It's also a bit like being a Brit abroad who doesn't know much about football.
3rd March 2010

Mmmmm
God, that's a difficult one.. You can't do everything.. I would save it for another time as, like you say, you are def going to be returning. Seeing as there is so much to see and do it would be a waste spending another week in the same place just to then spend another 5 days of of your whole trip. Also, alot of posts on the net say that, although it's worth it, it's really hard work and very very difficult trek in such heat. Read this: http://www.travelpod.com/travel-blog-entries/jeffsadventures/jeffswalkabout/1105905780/tpod.html and I found this : "This trek in the Colombian jungle is 52 km of pure sweaty hell. There are several river crossings, numerous mountains, thousands of slippery tiny stairs, a hundred billion mosquitos, and the Colombian military thrown in the mix for good measure. You pay a campesino to guide you through this “green hell” to the lost city of the Kogui indians, the only indians on the continent not conquered by the Spanish. The city is frankly not that spectacular, but the journey getting there is forever burned into my psyche " It was taken from here: http://seandavisphotographic.com/blog/?p=123 Your gut instinct will tell you what to do now.. Lets hope all three readers respond too ;-) (Only kidding) xx
4th March 2010

YES
I reckon you should do it. Its going to be something different to the rest of the trip and if it is tough, it'll probably give you a pretty strong sense of satisfaction that you did it. Besides, with all this sitting around in bars and drinking beer, a bit of exercise is probably just what you need! ;-)
4th March 2010

NO!
I wouldn't. Sounds a lot of effort for little gain. Save your long explorations for Macchu Picchu if you hit Peru. By all accounts, very little there, it's the arduous journey that makes it memorable. I still recall you didn't make it to the top of the mountain (hill) in Taiwan.....
4th March 2010

YES YES YES!!
Go for it Chris, you have the ability and obviously the desire else you wouldn't be contemplating it - why leave until tomorrow what you can do today.....tomorow may never come and then you will have missed a once in a lifetime opportunity. The whole idea of having no fixed itinery was so you could allow yourself to take up these opportunities - and the week wait will give you chance to build up your energy reserves, sounds like you might need it :-) I say definately go for it!! Missing you lots XXX
4th March 2010

YES! - I hate to agree with Dan, but he does seem to be correct in this circumstance. However seems I can only compare this to NPP, you may have somewhat more interesting alternatives than me.
5th March 2010

probably too late.. but DO IT :o)
DO DO DO DO IT

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 66; dbt: 0.072s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb