Popayán and Silvia


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Popayan
August 8th 2008
Published: October 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I've uh, been a bit remiss about writing lately.

Part of the problem is this location. It was serene and beautiful with access to one of the best town in Colombia to view "indigenous" culture. Unfortunately there wasn't much else to do there besides ogle at locals and look at buildings. And even this culture hound architect can only do so much of that.

I guess I should have been happy to get a restful respite after Cali Colombia tried to wear holes in my dancing shoes, but well, ya'll know that just ain't me. As it stands, after a half a day of wandering Popayan taking pretty pictures, I was pretty much sure that everything looked the exact same. When they said it was the "White City" they wasn't kidding. Since everything looked the same I (you guessed it) got pretty viciously lost. Damn me for leaving without a map. Why do I DO that?!??!

Anywho, a bit of history. Popayan got it's chops by being well located on the trade route between Quito and the Spanish coffers in Cartagena. Its temperate temperature also made it a great place for rich Spanish settlers to land grab.

In the end it used the influx of
Dusk.Dusk.Dusk.

Pretty ain't it...
cash to build a bunch of pretty churches and museums that retained a colonial flair through times when other cities of the type were rushing to "modernize". Consequently, it is one of the most stunning cities in Colombia to behold (especially when the Sky is blue). And luckily (for me...if not the local economy) it hasn't been whored to swarms of tourists - yet.

All of that conservation (be it planned or not) was nearly undone by good ole Mommy Nature in 1983 when a devastating Terremoto (earthquake) damaged much of the city. In some stroke of rare civic sensibility the city was rebuilt (instead of razed) over the next two decades.

In truth, I'd stopped in Popayan for a few reasons...not the least of which was I simply didn't feel like being on a bus for how ever long it would take me to get to Ecuador, but there were also tales of a great indigenous market every tuesday that would be a memory to relish forever. Or something like that. Since I'd yet to see much life outside the cities, I decided to take the 2 hour journey up to Silvia Colombia.

I stayed for 30 minutes.

It seems while there was
DayDayDay

Still Pretty Ain't it.
a lot of locals to see, there isn't much else to get into, cultural or otherwise. After a good solid 23 minutes of photo takin' I was pretty much ready to get back to bustlin' Popayan. I did get some scrumptious mangos though.

Popayan was pretty enough for a few days, but I would suggest to reserve the Silvia side trip to anyone who will not be able to make it to Bolivia or Southern Peru where seeing a market such as this becomes commonplace, but for those who are able to get deeper into the Andes, take your time getting lost in the White City.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

SilviaSilvia
Silvia

The Main Square
Selecting ProduceSelecting Produce
Selecting Produce

I like the Smile...but I know she is in Heavy Negotiations
PapasPapas
Papas

For Ya'll who didn't know the Potato originated in the Andes.
Some ChurchSome Church
Some Church

I'm too lazy to look up the name for you. Do it yourselves moochers.
Another mom and KidAnother mom and Kid
Another mom and Kid

I told this lady i would send the picture of her kid. I didn't realize until it was too late that she didn't have email and meant for me to send it Via Snail mail. Anyone got a stamp?
Knowing Sneer.Knowing Sneer.
Knowing Sneer.

I wonder what she be knowing


11th October 2008

Didja get me one of them hats?
Too stylish! Glad that you're getting so many different experiences.

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 15; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb