Questions Answered about Colombia Medellin


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Medellin
April 15th 2011
Published: April 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

1st I should say I plan to return to Colombia fall 2011. Stay in touch if you like.

I will reply to comments as I revisit here once a month or so but a personal message comes to my email for quick communication.

On Fri, Apr 15, 2011 at 2:39 PM, Barry Belau <updates@travelblog.org> wrote:

Dear william williams,

You have been sent a message from Barry Belau

==============
Hello, I enjoyed your blog about Medellin. I am also divorced and planning to visit Medellin to learn Spanish/volunteer and explore Colombia.

So is it true that there are many beautiful women in Medellin? What did you like best of the city and what didn't you like about it?

I am from St. Louis MO. Keep on blogging in the free world...
--


Barry I really like Colombia & I have only been in Medellin (5 months total) ...beautiful women and friendly western, modern, type people.

Just say "Hablas Ingles" and you have started a friendship, it really helps to have some Spanish.

There are 3 popular and reputable sites.
1. colombiancupid.com ( I don't know this site so well).
2. romancelatina.com
3. Badoo.com
Beware, there are bad women in Colombia. One British guy (21 yrs old) wearing a gold chain was killed in March, 2011 for his chain in a taxi with a new girlfriend. She may have been implicated I don't know for sure.

Opportunities seem to abound close to Medellin. Dont show your wealth...ie not even a camera at night and no pouch on your belt...they know good stuff might be inside..The idea of a poor gringo is funny to them.

During the day I walked a couple of miles to my tennis club with a big tennis bag (laptop inside) NO Problem, no worries in a strata 3or 4 neighborhood.... and I used the laptop at a sidewalk cafe...This may have been pushing it as I was somewhat in sight from the street...but I was only slightly concerned and did try to be aware who was noticing me.

Buena Suerte. William

No creemos lo que vemos, sino que vemos lo que creemos.
Basically means, You don't see reality, you see YOUR reality.


Advertisement



16th April 2011

Some Q's from Barry
On Sat, Apr 16, 2011 at 2:54 PM, Barry Belau wrote: William, Thanks for the update....Are you planning on returning to Medellin? Congratulations on being retired at the young age of 50. how did you do it? What did you mean when you said opportunities seem to abound close to Medellin? Would you say your Spanish has been improving dramatically since you are traveling in Spanish speaking countries? Thank you for writing,Barry Belau Hey Barry: I got lucky on early retirement. I have a small pension to travel. By opportunities I meant: opportunities for you in volunteering. I met people who were volunteering with in an hour or two of Medellin. My spanish has not improved dramatically, still intermediate. But when I was dating and speaking a lot it did seem to go a bit smoother but it is still not so good on the street. Just me maybe. I know I need to be with a Spanish only speaking novia most of the time then I am sure it bounce ahead quickly. I am going to post this on the blog on comments as your Q's may be others Q's as well. Best to contact me by making a comment on the blog. thanks and good luck. William
21st April 2011

Dating web sites
>There are 2 popular websites 1. cupidcolombia & romancelatina. It is www.colombiancupid.com Careful with Romance Latina. Lots of prepagos there.
21st November 2011

Another popular FREE dating site. Badoo.com
Also it has a chat area which is very handy.
12th November 2011

love interest
What is A DISCREET WAY TO ASK A LATINA FEMALE FRIEND IF SHE SHE HAS A BOYFRIEND?
21st November 2011

Why not just say it straight?
Tienes una novia?

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0576s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb