Hasta Luego Medellín….Bienvenidos a Bogotá


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Medellin
October 19th 2009
Published: October 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

DSC02975DSC02975DSC02975

With Lexie's brother - Nikko
What a week! It was an emotionally one that I will ALWAYS remember for the rest of my life. On Tuesday we had our final exam for level 5, I didn’t do so well but I passed however I’m still proud of myself because I didn’t study at all. On Wednesday Juliana, Lexie and myself visited the mosque in Medellin - ok I wasn’t a mosque, it’s a house that is used as a mosque - no one was around so we couldn't get in but I’m still glad we went. Juliana drove us, she is a good driver, and then later we went to exotic tattoo to get piercing - Lexie got her belly button pierced and I got my nose pierced for the second time. It was painful however a lot of people said it looks good on me - guess no pain, no gain.

Thursday, Sarah and Juliana joined us at the belly dancing class - we were about 40mins late, but they had fun and Sarah might continue. During the class, a lady walking on the street was robbed - Que triste! Viviana & Julio (the belly dancing & musical teacher) were convinced to go to
DSC02988DSC02988DSC02988

In front of the place with got our piercing
my going away party - am glad they came. We went to a bar (Carol's boyfriend bar - Cocos Cocktail), the décor was excellent and the music was the best I ever heard during my stay in Medellin. Am glad Diego showed up - Diego is awesome, he is so responsible and respectful - men like him don’t come often, I glad I met him. Michael showed up with his cousin - it was fun hanging out with him cuz we started Spanish class together but never got the chance to hang out. Peter came, now I like peter because he is very culturally aware - he knows African is not a fucking country and knows what ‘Pidgin English’ is. He is simply cool and he can dance too. Sarah from Germany, one of the coolest girls I have ever met - I just knew we would be friends the first time I met her, Chris also came - oh Chris is just precious, first time hanging out with him and he’s cute too. My conservation partner Juan Esteban also came - the night was awesome. The DJ played also of Hip-Hop - Dr Dre, Snoop dog, Ja Rule, Camron
DanzaArabeDanzaArabeDanzaArabe

The thursday class
and others - if y’all know me, y’all will know I am Hip-Hop. So that made my night, I couldn’t drink - all I had was a bottle of the national beer.

Friday was sad because I had to say good-byes to my friends - the guys from Congo, Kenya & Ivory Coast, Juan Fernando - the Spanish program coordinator, Michael, Diego, Jesus, Juanes, Efi and others. Friday night, we decided to hang out once more - Juliana, NuNu, Son, Lexie, Juan David & Chris, we went to a bar in Parque Lleras for cocktails. It was awesome. Juliana gave me a beautiful earring, Lexie gave me earrings & bracelet and my host mum gave me a wooden craft. I feel sooooooooooooo LOVED! Yes, Lexie I would miss you - sometimes you are very annoying that I wish you would just shut up but all the same you are my sister. Juliana & Sarah - you are just awesome, I don’t get along with lots of females but both of you are one of the coolest people I have ever met….thanks for your sincere friendship. My host family is just great; I will surely miss them and all the
DSC02983DSC02983DSC02983

Lexie y Juliana standing in front of the Mosque -house
lovely people I met at Universidad EAFIT. Also Lexie’s family is amazing - I hope she knows that, they are one of the kindest people I have seen, her little brother & sister are precious.

Well I left lovely Medellin Saturday morning to Bogota - I arrived here at 9.30pm and it was freaking cold. The hostel is in a sort of shitty neighborhood - FARC graffiti is written all over the walls but they hostel seem secured. I just went straight to bed because I was way too tired from the bus journey. Next day, I made friends with most of the people here, I went with Frances to buy wine for his mum and food to cook - the first time I cooked since I arrived at Colombia, we cooked pasta together. Later chatted with Jasmine (partly from Algeria & France), some guys from Mexico, Omar, the girls from Canada, a guy from Switzerland - at night 6 of us crammed in a taxi went to the T-Zone for drinks and food. I tried a honey beer - tasted way better than other beers and the fries were gigantic. I met this guy from London that knows
Cocos CocktailCocos CocktailCocos Cocktail

Julio, Sarah, Juan Esteban, Viviana, Juliana, Lexie y Chris
so much about Nigeria - he knows what Jollof rice, egusi soup, goat meat are and he listens to Fela Kuti - he played the tribute CD at the hostal and the people loved it - Fela Kuti is just the best.

I have concluded Bogota is not as charming as Medellin ---- it’s too cold and ugly. I’ll just chill in this hostel till Wednesday or Thursday and go to Cali.
This week - I’m hoping to visit the Pablo Escobar hacienda, spend less money and relax a lot.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

FridayFriday
Friday

me, Juliana, Son, Lexie y NuNu
DSC03016DSC03016
DSC03016

Chris, me, Peter y Juliana
CuteCute
Cute

Son, me y NuNu
DSC02998DSC02998
DSC02998

Diego in the green
Lexie's familyLexie's family
Lexie's family

the lady in red is my favorite


Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0692s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb