My first set of pictures...


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Medellin
July 3rd 2008
Published: July 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday, one volunteer and I, Jennifer, spent the first half the day with two girls, Marcela and Leidy. They are two of the three girls I mentioned in an earlier blog whose mother was selling gum by the park the other day. They are absolutely adorable and we had a great time teaching them and playing with them. Not know Spanish very well isn't too bad because the children are the most patient and will probably teach me the most. I am teaching them English anyway, so it works out rather nicely. Except when I say yes to something without fully understanding it. For instance, today a girl, Manuela, asked me if I was blind. I thought she asked me if I was going to play with them. Of course I said yes, and later learned what I had said yes to because she was laughing about it with the other volunteers.

Anyway, later that day, the other volunteers relieved us (we split the day), and I did some exploring on my own. First I took the Metro Cable. The metro has two main lines that run north south and east west. Each line has an extension that is actually cable (cars)...you know, those sky tram things? They each go up a side of a mountain on which people live. I took one to the west, and it went over a lot of the "slums" of Medellin. It was a beautiful site to see the mountains and the city from that high, but it was also striking and eye-opening to observe the way of life for a lot of people who live in houses made of carboard and rusty metal. It was certainly far from anything I had every seen before.

After that I went to the Botanical Gardens and saw some fun, exotic plants, trees and flowers. Those are the pictures that you will see in this blog... Any questions? Simply ask.


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

christine 336christine 336
christine 336

Leidy took about 1000 pictures with my camera before I had to take it away from her.
christine 353christine 353
christine 353

These pictures do this site no justice. It was so much worse than I can show.


6th July 2008

I am proud of you, Christine! You look so happy, glowing!

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb