San Agustín, Colombia (Dec. 14-18, 2017)


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Huila » San Agustín
December 17th 2017
Published: March 5th 2022
Edit Blog Post

I stayed at Hostal Musica y Arte. It was operated by a young Colombian man, whom displayed a rather feminine air about himself. Hostal Musica y Arte was quiet and that made me want to stay longer. There were two kittens running around and their names were Arte y Musica. There was a group of young German travelers that stayed there as well. I was a bit traumatized from my last encounter with German traveler in Mancora, thus I was a bit on edge. They turned out to be quite friendly and were the opposite of those I'd met in Mancora. My roommate was a German dude in his mid 20s. His name was Wolfe. He was volunteering for a school in Costa Rica. His experience in the third world brought about his disillusionment. He felt that it was impossible for things to change. We discussed our shared love for Colombian women. I try not to judge people, but there was a day where he took a shower and then changed in the room in front of me. It was awkward.

I took a couple of days to explore Parque Arqueológico de San Agustín, the world's largest necropolis. There were a lot to see. So many interesting megalith sculptures. I went on a tour the next day that included a visit to a Panela factory. Panela is unrefined whole cane sugar. I met an American girl from Oregon. She was nice. I forgot what we talked about, but what I remembered about her were to scars on her wrist...




Additional photos below
Photos: 108, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0849s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb