I am sailiiiiing (soon)


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Cartagena
August 3rd 2011
Published: August 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hola everyone!
Sorry for the bad updating, the Wifi at School doenst work so I always have to go somewhere else (like an internet Cafe or to Elins "grandfathers" house) to surf. Also I need to apologize for the bad spelling and the mistyping, the lettering of the computer board is different here (but thanks daddy for noticing :-) )
So this weekend I went to one of the poorest neighborhoods in Cartagena called Barrio Nelson Mandela. My host family was not very happy with me going there because its supposed to be dangerous and they told me that when guerillas "retire" they go there.. Hmm. So I was a little nervous to beginn with. So Elin, myself an about ten Colombian students took a bus to this place, with about 80 toothbrushes and 80 tubes of toothpaste to give away. The trip went fine until we entered the neighborhood. There werent any paved roads and since it had rained the bus got stuck in the mud and we had to walk. I was wearing my white nike training shoes and i sunk in the mud till my ankels.. That I didnt like and I was kind of angry that my almost-new-white-shoes got all dirty (keep this in mind for later). Then we finally got to the "School". It was more like alittle hut without a real floor. It had rained in and we all took shovels and buckets and started emptying the place from water. Then about 50 children arrived. One 20 year old girl brought 5 children which all were her own! The children were really sweet and curious, Elin and I were probably the only white people they had seen in a long time. It was sad to see that they didnt really have clothes that fit them and that they were so hungry and happy to receive the muffins and juice. Then we showed them how to brush their teeth correctly after eating. After that we sang songs and danced with them. It made me happy and sad at once. When I left and walked through the mud and dirt i didnt care a bit that my shoes got dirty. I just thought about how privledged I really am.
Later in the evening we went to a Colombian birthday party. An uncle of a friend had turned 40 (or 50 I dont remember). The party was great, tere were people of all ages but mostly ranging from 50 and up :-) They showed me some dance steps and thought it was extremely funny that I seemed to lack rhythm :-) When I left at about 3 in the morning everyone was still there and still dancing..
Now my plans: On Tuesday I will leave for Panama on a sailing boat!!! I will be travelling 30 hours on the sea and then arrive on the San Blas islands where you can just snorkel and swim and sunbathe. We will be 25 people on the boat. Later we will take a Jeep through the jungle to Panama City. There we will be for 2 days until heading back to Cartagena! Jupiiii, I really looking forward to it, I havent ever been on a boat for so long so I hope not to get seasick.
Right now Colombia is hosting the Soccer (Football) World Championship (U20, under age 20), so tomorrow I will go see the math Mexico - England in the local stadium, it only cost like 8 dollars :-)
So lots of love and hear you soon!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb