Caribbean Phase


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Cartagena
May 2nd 2006
Published: June 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Shadow of Tommy No PapersThe Shadow of Tommy No PapersThe Shadow of Tommy No Papers

Living in a hostel again is quite the experience.
It’s been another great day in Cartagena, even though the sky was a little gray. Today is a lot different. There are people everywhere in every street. The old town is teeming with Colombians. It definitely feels like an exotic land down here. I guess they took their first of May celebrations very seriously and stayed indoors, but today they are out in force.

Last night I went out with a whole bunch of people from the hostel. We all ate dinner at this local Colombian eating spot. I was served this soup with a big chunk of corn. I ate it cob and all. After that a few of us accompanied by these random Colombian guys went out to look for nightlife. Because of the holiday there was hardly any. We finally found this one place that was blasting out salsa tunes, by that time it was just me, this Belgian guy, two super cool Swedish girls, and the Colombians. The Colombian girls in there were tight and gorgeous.

At one point I found myself sitting at a table by myself. One of the Colombian guys and asked me in Spanish which of the girls did I
Colombian StatueColombian StatueColombian Statue

There are quite a lot of afro-colombians beats here in Cartagena.
like. I had my eyes on this hot girl in a white mini skirt, and an off the shoulder shirt, with a bare midriff. So I got to talking to her, my Spanish is improving a bit, and then we wound up dancing. She was such a good dancer that it was ridiculous. Anyway, I am pretty sure she was "working" so I wound up going back to the hostel with the Swedish girls, with a stop off for una hamburguesa. We sat down to eat in a square in the middle of the town at 2am.

Today, I went to the beach area of Cartagena called Boca Grande with the Swedish girls. While in broad daylight waiting for a cab I was tapped on the shoulder. I looked down and this guy was holding out a dime bag of coke for me. Only in Colombia right?

The beach was kind of gray and there were vendors trying to sell us all sorts of stuff. I got to swim in the Caribbean for the first time in my life. I even managed to catch a wave or two even though that for the most part they were pretty weak. I think I am definitely going to try to see Bogota before I come home, with a slim chance of also going to Cali. All in all life is great. Adios.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.267s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 26; qc: 123; dbt: 0.1279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb