Paragliding in Cali


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Cali
March 2nd 2010
Published: March 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Cali to Capurganá


Hola 'migos! Greetings from Cali, Colombia. As I previously mentioned, Cali is the supposed salsa capital of the world. I would never say I’m anywhere near a great salsa dancer but I use to think I could hold my own on the dance floor with a good partner. Not here, boy. Man, they are SUAVE! I’ve decided that the ugliest men can look good if they can salsa.

Other than enjoying an exhilarating nightlife, I haven’t been doing too much else in Cali. The weather is hot hot hot. About 90 degrees yesterday. So I’ve been staying cool during the days working on a handful of editing assignments that have fortunately come my way at the perfect time.

I took a quick trip back to Salento. Stayed at an interesting, new hostal called Republika de Artistas. The owner was an overwhelmingly gracious host. Unfortunately, the bed was the most uncomfortable bed I think I've slept in during all my travels. At 4am, I simply couldn't go back to sleep. I was too exhausted to do anything that day. The town is still lovely and Glen and Edi from Pereira came out to meet me and hang for a bit,
Mike is looking at me like I'm crazy...Mike is looking at me like I'm crazy...Mike is looking at me like I'm crazy...

...cause he thinks he's about to die!
which was a real treat.

Today is my last day in Cali. I was able to convince my travel buddy, Mike, to risk life and limb on a paragliding adventure today. It’s the first time I’ve ever gone paragliding. It was fantastic! I’ll let the pictures do most of the talking. And of course, no excursion would be complete without a police roadblock. As I’ve come to find, the police are very friendly and always more than happy to snap some photos with ya!

I’m heading back to Medellin because it’s the jumping off point for trips to Capurganá, a small beach town steps away from the Panamanian border. I probably would continue right on over that border except that I’m meeting some people in Bogota in a week or so. But don't be surprised if I end up there one of these days!

Alright chumies. Hope everyone is well and look forward to hearing from you soon.
M-



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



3rd March 2010

great pics!
you continue to amaze me my little adventurer!!! xoxoxoxoxoxoxox
3rd March 2010

I'm so glad i didn't know about this ahead of time. Love you
3rd March 2010

salsiera
What great photos! Paragliding looks so great, especially not being over water. You look good with a couple of cops hanging off you. Miss you xoxoxox Ceeeeeta

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb