Two weeks in


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
September 19th 2016
Published: September 19th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Well, two weeks in and I am settled into life in Bogota. Sorry about the lack of accents but I use a Spanish keyboard for email but can't easily switch in Chrome with other apps. Anyway, I like Chapinero and it's ease to move around the city. I will have to get some more photos but I never take my phone since it doesn't work without local cell service so I always forget to take it for just photos. Anyway, some of the things I like are the local feel of residents here, reasonable food and stores. There is a lot of graffiti, but interestingly, the shop owners hire artists to paint over this. Most of the storefronts are just metal security frontages, so painting them actually makes sense. From what I see, good art won't be graffiti'd again. When just a small piece of art is done to cover a small grafitti, the rest of the frontage will be graffiti'd, but the small art won't. Essentially, there is respect for the art/artist. It might be worth doing a pictorial of some of these, but I'll google and see if this may already be out there,



My work with the Foundation is moving along. A lot of what I am doing is information transfer on my degree and some of their technology concerns. It will keep me busy and it feels we are both benefiting. I have to admit, some of the theory of peace and forgiveness get's into deep philosophical thought and can easily go over my head. I keep trying to learn.



Between work, I am starting Salsa lessons at Paso Latino which is with 8 blocks of me so it is really convenient. I found them on the Net. They have all kind of sessions for groups and individual lessons. I know Salsa basics and had lessons before, but they are so good here, I need to sharpen. One place I like to hang on the weekends in the Colombia Pub right near me and they are pretty much dedicated to Salsa.



The biggest issue is the vote coming October 2. That is the only photo I am posting here since it is the most important thing happening here. I am not following the polls anymore. They were very mixed when I came down, but there seems to be a feeling of hope. I go to Uzaquen on the weekends for the markets and activity on Sunday. Last week there was a wood carving of President Santos releasing a dove of peace. I actually will be in Medellin for the vote visiting family of US friends. I plan on going to vote with one of them to see the process as much as they will allow me to approach as a non-citizen. Medellin is supposed to be the highest No camp because former President Uribe is from Antioquia. I'll post a post-vote blog. Let;s wish the Colombian people the best.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb