Bogota


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
July 6th 2010
Published: July 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We almost made it! We are on the right continent at least. ;-)

Today we missed out connecting flight out of Bogota, Columbia to Ecuador. So, we are in Columbia....

They have been quite nice so far. We are in a hotel not too far from the airport. The hotel stay is free and Air Canada found flights for everyone on to Ecuador on Tuesday. Kwesi and I, however, are not on the same flight out... A bit odd but nothing we can do.

My flight leaves at 6am. Kwesi's at 2pm. I fly to Peru then to Ecuador. ;-) Lots of passport stamps without seeing anything! My whole time in Columbia is in the dark...

Other than that, nothing interesting to report. Airports are boring.

We are still waiting for our luggage... My plan is to have a shower, brush my teeth and then head out to the 4:30am shuttle back to the airport!

We hope you are doing well. Kwesi is running out of passport space... Never planned on this. ;-) We don't do well seperated. Only one tube of toothpaste!

Meghan

Advertisement



6th July 2010

Good news
Good to hear you are on the road again, will be very interested to see how you get on as Equador and Colombia are unknown parts of the globe for us, but some day?? The nearest I have got is a panama hat from Cuenca where Marian's neice was working for a while - they say they make the best hats there. Trust the rest of the trip comes together. best wishes Marian & Mike
6th July 2010

Looking forward to more
Thanks for including me in your list of blog recipients. I look forward to hearing about more of your adventures as the weeks pass. Hi to Kwesi and to Dr. Zlatescu. Good thoughts and prayers for a safe and rewarding experience.
6th July 2010

flights
hope the rest of the flights go well....
6th July 2010

Peru's airport is nice. lots of Free wifi. Decent food, they take USD and Nouvo Sols, Definately makes for an interesting situation. ;) Might I recommend, with 2 travellers, think redundency :D Just like your servers, what happens if you lose a box? you still need toothpaste :D ;)
6th July 2010

Sorry Meg, that previous one about the Airport in LIma and the redundency was mine ;) If you need anything, give me a shout I know people in Lima and Bogota.
6th July 2010

almost there!
Did the rest of your group also miss the connecting flight? Hopefully you have others to hang out with on your plane rides to Ecuador. Safe flight!
6th July 2010

So sad you didn't to get anything in Culombia. Good luck in the rest of the trip :)
6th July 2010

Sounds like fun so far Meghan
Hi Meghan. Thanks for the update. Good that you are still travelling. For me I think my travelling days are over - so over airports and crappy hotels and crappy food. Still that's just me and you and Kwesi are still on the road - so have a great time. I never made it to Ecuador so will be interested to hear of your adventures. Are you going to Bolivia? That was my favorite country in South America. Take care. Michelle.
7th July 2010

Hi Megan. You may have to buy some Baking Soda to brush your teeth. That is what we used when I lived the Convent Life. Just take a teaspoon full in your hand, wet the brush real good, and roll it in the soda, we never had tooth paste in the Convent let me tell you. By the way, who does have the tube of paste? It has been hot hear, cool, then hot again, storms etc. Go figure. I wish you a safe journey wherever you travel, and also to your hubby. Take Care. Anne
7th July 2010

Hi Kwesi/Megan: It is great to hear that you guys are travelling again. Your need to solve all the problems and manage all the challenges that come with travel is a reminder of all that I experienced when I travelled a couple years ago. I have never been to Central or South America but am hoping to get there when I travel next. Have great fun, learn loads of stuff and take magnificent photos. One Love - Courtney

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0751s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb