Something of an End


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
January 9th 2009
Published: January 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This is it. This is the end; the last day. Tomorrow night I will not be sleeping in this bed....I walk outside to meet with Lili; she lives around the block. We meet up with Leonardo in front of Cafam (a grocery store) to hop on a bus headed for El Candalrie, an older district I haven't visited yet. As we walk around "The Cathedral", Lili looks for a ring in the market and I snack on one of those waffle treats they sell in the streets. It has arequipe, some cream sauce, and blackberry jam. It was pretty good, super sweet and mercilessly messy. Eventually we make our way down the street in pursuit of Cuban cigars. Thank goodness for Leonardo; he finds them. Now we're off to a mall. ATM. Coffee. Shopping. I get another tinto, this time at Oma, and now I know that I really only like black coffee with sweetener. Make our rounds at the American brands only to realize that buying them here is more expensive. Quick b-line for the Colombian brands. I buy three button down shirts; I don't consider this splurging. Try to find Transformers on blu-ray and fail. Win some, lose some. Between, I hate when store clerks help me find clothes, to much pressure. Quick stop by the food court. Must. Eat. Pizza. Nothing special here folk, sorry. Taxi time. We're back at the Colmenares. Par-tay time spells awkward moments all around for me. And Diego is leaving me here. Alone, with strange 20-something Christians who don't speak English. Ok, that's a lie; Monika, Alex, and Leonardo are here as well. I sneak up stairs to snatch my computer and escape some awkward lack-of-conversation, at least English conversation. Quick decision to make a party playlist to look busy and pass time while no one talks to me. I'm in control of this background music now! Wait, mustn't look anti-social, quick finish. Close call. "What is that English word? Why yes, I'll talk to you even, if it is only because you want to practice. Good thing Christ unites us. The host returns, with more females as well. Lizbet and Lili. However, they're seen no more now, as they make food in the kitchen. Supplies to battle our groaning stomach monsters that are beginning to wake. My American music is sharply cut off. Time for dancing! Who is this new Diego, uninhibited and class clown of the dance floor. I learn a few new moves and teach a few moves, the cupid shuffle and a little shag. I'm tired, the party won't end. All two glasses of the Colombiana and beer drink I had went to my head, haha. Diego insists that I ride with him as he goes to drop people off, even though there is no more room. It's 1:15 and we're being pulled over by the cops. Random screening. I don't have any ID or my passport. I'm frisked. All the the guys are though. I'm told to get back into the car. I'll exaggerate this story tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0627s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb