Colombia and Carnaval


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Barranquilla
February 11th 2010
Published: February 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Colombia


Hello!

I don't know what it is about being in Colombia but I never manage to keep up with my travel blogs! At the moment, I'm in Santa Marta at the same place I stayed the last time I was here, with one of the San Diego girls I traveled with last time I was here as well. We've become friends with the owners, two brothers from the San Francisco Bay area. Together with them and a bunch of other people, we've rented what they are saying is a mansion in Barranquilla for Carnaval. I haven't seen it so I can't really say. But I can tell you for sure, the carnaval frenzy is building. People are flocking to the coast. Street vendors have put aside their normal wares in exchange for masks, wigs and stylized t-shirts (I've included pictures of mine here). Barranquilla's Carnaval is supposed to be the best one outside of Brazil. I've never been to Brazil but I'll be sure to let you know how this one goes. More info here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barranquilla%27s_Carnival

While you anxiously await the update, here are some Colombia photo sets I've put up on flickr:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/69192286@N00/sets/

Sets include more photos from Las Lajas, Pasto and environs, and the colonial town of Popayan.

You'll also see pix from DC's crazy snowstorm I had to take on for a whirlwind weekend.

Lastly, if you don't hear from me early next week, it's because I've headed off for 5 days of hiking to Colombia's Ciudad Perdida - ruins 600 years older than Machu Picchu: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ciudad_Perdida

Hope everyone is staying warm and well,
Morganne

Advertisement



12th February 2010

Ummm
Who is this tan person?? Seriously I hardly recognize you. You've had braids before so that don't bother me none...but dang girl! Lookin good! Hugs. Besos.

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0745s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb