A goodbye for now...


Advertisement
Published: July 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

found this one day while exploring.found this one day while exploring.found this one day while exploring.

Too bad I cant remember where it is:)
Well, folks, this is it. This will be my last blog entry here in Chile. After a trip so incredible, how can I sum it up in a blog post? How can I do justice to everything I have learned and experienced here? I think the truth is that I can’t. However, there are a few thoughts which I would like to share as my time here comes to an end. When Katie was here, she asked me about the three things about being in Chile that I would miss most when I am back in the US, either because we don’t do them there or because we do them differently. I found it a great question and have spent quite a bit of time thinking about it. Though there are so many things I will miss, I think I can sum up many of them in three ideas.

The first one I would call the “street life.” This is something that would I guess (though I am not sure) exists in bigger cities in the US as well. It is basically just the ability to always be entertained and to be able to find almost anything you need somewhere outside. Hungry or thirsty? Walk about 100 feet and you will find something. Looking for gifts or regalitos to buy? There are plenty of ferias and market places. There is a fish market every day outside at a beach not far from my house. There is an antique feria, which is basically like a huge garage sale, every weekend. They have the equivalent of a farmers market going on all the time by the building I had classes in. There are always people performing for tips, whether it is singing/playing guitar on the metro or juggling in the streets when the stoplight is red.

Along with all this comes the wonderful location of these two cities. It is fun to be outside and to explore! The ocean is beautiful and Valparaíso is a unique city. Every time I walk around in it, even if it is a route I have done several times before, I will notice a new piece of artwork or graffiti. The hills in Valparaiso are almost endless. Just yesterday I randomly started walking up one and exploring around. I ended up by this beach outside of Valparaiso, about a 30 minute walk away. It is easy to get lost in the maze of artwork and winding streets. But lost in a fun way, as it is always easy to find your way back if you just point yourself toward the ocean!

My friends and I often spent a lot of time outside this semester. Home stay families are quite a bit different from, say, a college dorm room. When we hung out, we would meet at some place outside or at a restaurant or something, not at one another’s house. This is another reason why I am so thankful for the street culture of these two cities. There was always something to do! Though Winona and Decorah, the two cities in which I will spend this next year, are wonderful in their own ways, their “street life” isn’t quite like what I am used to here! Although I know I will find things to appreciate about those cities, I am sure I will miss all the culture I can experience here just by walking around outside!

The second thing I will really miss upon leaving the Chilean culture and returning to the US is the pace of life. I feel that this is
A restaurant inside an old train.A restaurant inside an old train.A restaurant inside an old train.

It doesnt work, but is still sitting on the track. I had seen it several times throughout the semester but it always looked creepy!
a really common answer for students who have studied abroad. Before arriving here, I read that many students said they encountered a much more relaxed pace of life when abroad. In most cases, this has been true for me too. Sure, you still have bus drivers going faster than most race car drivers and people running you over in a race to get to the metro before the door closes. But, in general, I see Chile as a more relaxed place. You show up 15 or 20 minutes late? That is fine. In fact, it is normal😊 And it isn’t only the more relaxed style that I like, but it is the understanding that you don’t need to rush important things. If you show up an hour late to something because you are having lunch with a family member or dear friend, more power to you.

There was one night when my family had an asado here (I can’t remember if I blogged about it or not). But some family friends were here for the weekend, and everyone was just relaxing and enjoying each other’s company. As a result, the meat didn’t get on the grill until 11 pm. It was one in the morning when we sat down to eat. I think I finally left the table around 3 in the morning. I can’t remember exactly the times, but it was late! And the awesome thing was that no one cared! And these were not my age “typical party kids.” They were mostly adults- in fact, except for the 6 month old baby, I was the youngest one there! Friends will pass each other on the street and stop and have a conversation, as opposed to a quick “hihowareyou” as you rush past. Again, is this always the case? No, of course not. But, in general, I see this happen a lot more here. And I love it. The ability to just slow down and say “you know what, I am not going to worry about the fact that I might be 5 minutes late for the movie, or I might have to wait for the next metro, because I am talking with you.” The general attitude that the “next thing” isn’t always the most important, that’s what I love😊

Last but not least, I will miss the greetings here (both the hellos and the goodbyes), and
A nice thought to carry with me.A nice thought to carry with me.A nice thought to carry with me.

Literal translation: Let life fly.
everything it entails. The way greetings work here is quite different from those in the US in several ways. First, when a man and a woman meet, or a woman and a woman, they give a kiss on the cheek. This is common in many other countries as well, not just Chile. At first it was a bit awkward for me, but it didn’t take long to get used to it. Now, I feel it will be weird going back to giving girls a handshake!

However, the “kiss” isn’t what I will miss most about the greetings. Rather it is this: every time you meet someone, or just see them again after not having seen them, you greet each other, whether it is the kiss or the handshake. Likewise, when you are leaving, you do the same. At first it was funny to watch, say, a girl who shows up to late to a restaurant literally walk around the whole table to greet everyone! But I have come to really enjoy it. To me, it is a way of showing that everyone acknowledges everyone. Think about how many times you have been at a party or a restaurant or somewhere in a group and another group joins. If introductions aren’t made, then oftentimes it progresses to this weird “hanging out with people whose name I don’t even know.” But it is so much less awkward and friendlier if every time groups get together everyone gives everyone a greeting.

Then, like I said, leaving works the same way. Instead of awkwardly slinking away, you just announce you are going, give everyone the same “greeting” (handshake or kiss) and go on your way. So even if you go the entire time without talking to someone, you still acknowledge their presence in a friendly and comfortable way both when you meet them and when you leave. Now, again, does this always happen? No, of course not. But almost always that is how it works. I think one of the common criticisms of US culture is that we have trouble sharing our feelings and are awkward in social situations. To me, just a simple thing like a greeting and goodbye to everyone can go a long way!

So, those are three of the things I have most enjoyed most about Chilean culture and life and, therefore, three of things I will most miss! Though I am sure I will be forced back into some cultural norms (such as shaking hands when I meet a woman), I also hope that I can, in my own small way, bring some of these ways of life to the US, simply by keeping them as a part of my own life. Though my eyes have been opened to some of the ways in which the US is lacking (Culturally, socially, etc), I will not return to the US saying “Everything here is terrible, we don’t do anything right.” In fact, being abroad here has also helped me realize some of the things I love about the US. I don’t think any country, nor any person, “does life” perfectly. And that is one of the biggest reasons why I made this journey in the first place: to learn little bits and pieces about life from here that I can implement into my own life, and, hopefully, pass on to others that I meet! From that point of view, this trip has been a great success!

Now, I look ahead with a mix of joy and sadness to my final three days of my time abroad in Chile. What an adventure it has been. Once back, I will post another update with a check in from home and whatnot. A huge thank you to all of you who have supported through actions, words, and prayers throughout this trip! I look forward to seeing many of you in the coming weeks!

Advertisement



17th July 2013

Wow!
Your blog has blown me away, Isaac. Throughout these months I've been reading it and printing it for your Grandma to read. You are an amazing young man - your insight is wise beyond your years and your ability to communicate is equally amazing. I am so proud to be your aunt!

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb