Valaparaiso and Mendoza


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Valparaíso Region » Valparaíso
January 2nd 2010
Published: January 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After a night in San Padro de Atacama I got a 24h bus down to Valparaiso. I started to really notice the difference with Chile (one of the richest coutries in South America) and Bolivia ( the poorest country in South America) comfortable buses, paved roads and generally much more westernised.

I arrived in Valparaiso the next day and set about exploring the city. I really liked Valparaiso with its multi-coloured houses, street artists, artisan shops and funicular trains (for getting up the many steep hills). As well as generally wondering round and taking in the atmosphere I went on a boat round the port and drank lots of espresso in the coffee shops (before coming to South America I was under the misconception that the coffee here would be good but they seem to have a great liking for instant coffee and fresh coffee has been extremely difficult to find). In the evenings I watched some street theatre and music (most of the audience were up dancing by the end of the eveing) at Plaza Anibal Pinto as well as enjoying a pisco sour or 2 ( both Chile and Peru claim Pisco as their national drink).

It was then time to head over to Argentina, first stop Mendoza which is known for its wine. In Mendoza I tried my first Argentinian steak (delicious) and went on a tour of some wine bodegas by bicycle. There was also an abundance of ice cream shops here which I couldn't resist. After sampling all the great food and drink I decided it was time to do some hiking and headed to see Aconcagua (the highest mountain in South America) unfortunately the clouds were low that day and I didn't get to see the peak but even so I really enjoyed the hike. This area was where they filmed Seven Years in Tibet and the film company had given money for the rebuilding of a bridge in that area so it is now know as the Brad Pitt Bridge! I also went to see Peunte del Inca a natural stone bridge over the rio Mendoza.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

MendozaMendoza
Mendoza

Dinner!
MendozaMendoza
Mendoza

Wine tasting. Cheers!
MendozaMendoza
Mendoza

Another day in the lab!
AconcaguaAconcagua
Aconcagua

The Brad Pitt bridge
AconcaguaAconcagua
Aconcagua

Aconcagua hiding in the clouds behind me


1st February 2010

Brad Pitt bridge?!
Is the Brad Pitt bridge where you get to meet a Brad Pitt lookalike of your own?!

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb