Daddy Visits his Girl in South America!


Advertisement
Published: June 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Explorin'Explorin'Explorin'

Bonding time in Santiago

Daddy Visits his Girl in South America!

 South America » Chile » Parque Nacional Campana By ChileOut
June 18th 2007
Diana
I am a very lucky lass. My wonderful father was able to come down from North Carolina all the way to lil' old Santiago de Chile for a week (NOT enough!) to visit his only daughter. The trip was unforgettably memorable, to say the least (and to be sophisticatedly redundant, yes?).


Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Objects in mirror are closer than they appear.Objects in mirror are closer than they appear.
Objects in mirror are closer than they appear.

not the average rearview mirror sight
Papas FritasPapas Fritas
Papas Fritas

The heartiest, warmest, biggest, crispiest, softest, most PERFECT french fries ever. Served to us on an enourmous platter. We lucked out.
outpostoutpost
outpost

The reflection of an old police outpost with broken glass that reflected a really pretty view that daily goes unused. I may volunteer for the police force to get this post. I thought it could use some flowers on the table.
Too muchToo much
Too much

Sometimes there are words. Sometimes there are not. The happiness in my heart right now is one of those moments.
HandsomeHandsome
Handsome

Grunt. Mountain man!!
Cerro Santa LuciaCerro Santa Lucia
Cerro Santa Lucia

A lovely stone staircase filled public attribute of my city: Cerro Santa Lucia.
PhotogenicPhotogenic
Photogenic

Hello, meet Photogenic Mound of Earth found just outside Santiago.
EconomistEconomist
Economist

Dad navigating the new money system. Switching to a new system for a week without knowing anything about it beforehand is quite a task. Good thing he has a daughter who is more than willing to spend his money for him...
My side of the mountainMy side of the mountain
My side of the mountain

Small meets Big.
Benefits of SmogBenefits of Smog
Benefits of Smog

A view from just outside the city, overlooking Santiago. You can see the smogline rising above my home. But never fear, it makes for some pretty sunset colors!
The other boyThe other boy
The other boy

Joel and I. He, dad and I played the three...musketeers? No, blind mice...throughout the city of Santiago for much of the week, having a grand old time!
I miss central heatingI miss central heating
I miss central heating

Though it is now winter in Chile, winter seems to have slipped the mind of Chilean architects everywhere. The problem is rampant. There is no central heat...and I am frigid in most any given moment in life. Dad provided me with a halogen space heater (my "Halogen Hearth" as I call it), and I am forever grateful.
I matchI match
I match

I try to color coordinate wherever I go. I had a coat on, but it didn't match as well. Who says fashion is practical?
Rental Car on SteroidsRental Car on Steroids
Rental Car on Steroids

Yes, this is the view from a rental car. A compact. That we put to the test on the winding, snowy roads up the Andes. Then squeegeed clean at a gas station before returning.
CruisinCruisin
Cruisin

They see me rollin....
PhotosPhotos
Photos

Just trying to capture one's line of sight...to convince ourselves we were there.
Checkin Checkin
Checkin

Checkin out Santiago de Chile from the Cerro Santa Lucia.
Valiant SteedValiant Steed
Valiant Steed

Our valiant steed, The Renault "Clio." It was french, therefore provoking from us a slurry of french jokes and a complete blame on the french every time the car stalled or failed to make it up an icy roadway. The perfect scapegoat.
PapaPapa
Papa

At Parque Intercomunal, where dad set up his Ham Radios and contacted the outside world...


28th June 2007

still in the land far away
i see! i keep thinking about you these days wondering, how's my little di? i hope she's enjoying being in a country where the seasons are the opposite. do not fear, it's too stifling hot here in the greater southerneastern coastal region. i do enjoy seeing your pictures of your travels and your father and your boyfriend. BOYFRIEND? i think i'll take a honeymoon in argentina.

Tot: 0.253s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.1909s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb