hostel city center


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
January 12th 2013
Published: January 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

3am and I wake up to the screaming sounds of a woman in distress, running down the stairs

-¨Someone Help me. Help me please. Help me, please, Someone¨.

All screaming sounds were in Spanish.

-¨Daniella, What is wrong? Listen to me. Stop it¨.

A deep voice came out of the throat of a man.

-¨Leave me alone, Help me someone..Help Help¨

This struggle went on for minutes. The wooden floors told a story of struggle, heavy footstepsa, the girl asked to be let go, the man yelled at the girl asking her why she was doing what she was doing. Her frantic screams got louder and louder.

-¨look into his suitcase. He stole last night, he went into the dorm rooms and stole peoples things. Someone check his bags. Please help me, Tell him to give me back my cell phone. Please help me. Let go of me¨.

a loud smack to the flesh was heard.

-¨no, no, no...pleae someone help me!¨.

After ten minutes or so. the lady of in charge of the ¨Hostel¨ finally woke up and went to investigate.

-¨Mi nina, my girl, calm down, tell me what is going on¨.

The girl kept screaming frantically.

The lady in charge kept trying to calm her down. After about 30 minutes, no policemen were called, the guy was kicked out of the hostal and the girl was given room 22.

I could not go back to sleep. Her screams kept playing like a broken record in my head. What was going on with them, i do not know. I did not go to investigate bc i was now travelling alone. I was smack in the city center of Santiago, with no cell phone, and it was now 3:30am. All i could do was lock my dorm room, and hoped that the sun would rise soon. It did not rise soon enough.

In the morning, I asked the lady, who was in charge of the day, about what went on the night before. All she could say was that, the couple was kicked out and that they must have been on drugs and that this was the first time this had happened in the hostel. I did not believe her.



This whole sitaution occured because of the following.

-I arrived late to the airport.

-None of the PUBLIC phones in the whole entire airport were not functioning!

-I had not reserved a hostel room when it was clearly HIGH season.

-The one chance I was given to borrow a cell phone from a taxi man, I called a hostel listed in my guidebook, but it was fully booked.

-the brazillian guy at the touristy booth for TURISK bus tour recommended the hostel I took for the night. SOBE hostel in the city center on almirante la torre street.

NEVER AGAIN listen to some random strangers recommendation for a hostel! Note to self, always book hostels in advance when its high season.

Advertisement



13th January 2013

Wow!
That does not sound like a happy night at all! And a good lesson learned! Be safe on your wanderings!

Tot: 0.261s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0873s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb