traumatico :)


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
December 11th 2012
Published: December 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


After Buenos Aires I visited Mendoza. The most famous wine-region in Argentina. There I took a local bus to another small town, where all vineyards are located. I rented a bike and started visiting the winaries and took tours and did some wine-tasting. I met 4 other people on the first tour and we continued the bike tour through the winaries together. We stopped for some lunch, shared another bottle of wine and visited more places, such as Trapiche, which is a huge brand and globally known. Very interesting but after some time, the small amouts of wine during the tasting started to add up and I left my group and returned to Mendoza in the evening. I spend about 4 nights in Mendoza.

The next day after the wine-tasting tour I took a bus to Santiage de Chile. Its pretty close, it took me about 6 hours on the bus, out of which we spend 1,5 hours at the border. You can see how developed Chile is already at the border. They search you with x-ray machines like nowhere else. Well, upon arrival in Santiago I was told quickly how great the countries economy is. Santiago is a very
santiago de chilesantiago de chilesantiago de chile

from top of san cristobal
modern city, very big. Similar to Buenos Aires, but better (economy wise) but not as charming.

I spend the first two nights in the hostel "Chilli". Cool place. Cool staff. Cool guests. I bumped into two Dutch guys whom I have met in Mendoza. The first night the whole hostel went out for some drinks... then to a club. When we left the club everyone took a cab, just the Dutch and I said naaah, we will walk (its maybe a 10min walk). Long story short, it took us 2hours... First we started walking into the wrong direction, the boys jumped on a treee and where "hanging out" there for quiet a while, then we met a dog, called her Aria and played with her... Later we found an office chair and the street and were pushing each other on it in the deserted streets... Fianlly I took one of the guys on my back, I said "no problem i have an older brother" but... well... when I started going sidewards he thought I was joking and I ended up falling and he fell on me. Good ending to a good night. The walk home was more fun than the club thats for sure.

The third day in Santiago my friend, who I worked with in Berlin in Las Cucarachas, called me and invited me to stay with him and his family in his house. On Saturday night (exactly one week ago) he and his friend took me out to a club, awesome night with a lot of dancing. So here I am now. I had some great days here, I met his friends, his family and everyone was so kind and lovely. Its such a welcoming place.

Tatiana arrived yesterday in Santiago, ever since we have been talking and talking with no end in sight...

Tomorrow, Sunday, we will board the flight to Sydney, Australia.

I will definitely come back to Chile one day, there is just so much more to see.

x


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb