The Bus and Arriving in Santiago


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
March 31st 2011
Published: March 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

So the bus ride has been pretty long. So far we’ve been on the bus for 20.5 hours and it hasn’t been horrible but certainly not on the top of my list of things that are awesome. Right now we’re driving up the Chilean coast with the ocean to our right and it’s not a bad view at all from the top of this bus. I didn’t fall asleep last night until around 2am which was annoying but hey you play the hand you’re dealt so they say. I woke up around 8am or so and it was sunny and then shortly thereafter the climate changed a little and it got pretty foggy and the sun went away. That’s when I realized that we were near the coast, the ocean came into view in the distance and it was a pretty nice view to wake up to. I’d have preferred to be on the beach instead of on the bus but like I said, what can you do? We stopped a few different random towns to pick up and drop off people and we got off the bus a few times to stretch our legs, buy cigarettes and some sodas. Right now we’re checking out all the small houses that line the rocky coastline facing the pacific. It would be amazing to have a home in one of these small towns. They played a few movies on the bus, none of which I listened to, I just read the Spanish subtitles for all of them which I enjoyed since it helped me to get a little better grasp on some of the verb tenses I am still having trouble with, like the future subjunctive, Christ on a bike. One of the movies was “Eclipse” and Brett plugged in to watch and listen while I just read the subtitles. It actually wasn’t half bad not hearing it. We were wondering however, why all the werewolf guys don’t ever have shirts on, it seems a little off-putting to me. Anyone who has an answer can email me or just post up a comment. I am pretty sure the old Chilean men on the bus don’t know either so we really have no one to ask. We just stopped a bus terminal for 20 minutes, our longest stop yet and right now we’re about 2.5 hours away from Santiago. I cannot wait to shower; it’s been since Sunday night that I had my last shower and today is Thursday so you can do the math. I have changed my socks but that’s about it, I can’t see wasting clean clothes on a dirty body since around here you have to pay to have laundry done. We bought some food before we left San Pedro, some salami and cheese and some cookies as well as some fruit so we are eating well for our ride, we just finished the majority of the food but hey we’re almost there so I can’t complain too much. We found the location of our hostel, its right downtown and near to the metro stop which is a plus. I am really excited to get to Santiago and see what this metropolis is all about. I am also really excited to party my ass off this weekend at Lolla, hopefully we’ll meet some cool people there. Also we just stopped on the side of the road to pick up a girl who was waiting for the bus, I am pretty sure the driver just stops for every girl he sees waiting on the side of the road since I don’t think we’ve picked up one random dude yet. Hey I can’t blame the guy, these Chilean girls are beautiful, similar to old wooden ships (hopefully Tim Bryner and Nick Patterson read this entry as they are huge Ron Swanson fans, we should all strive for the greatness that man has achieved hahha). 198 kilometers to Santiago I just saw so with that I am going to leave this entry for now and I’ll come back to it tonight or tomorrow or whenever I get around to it. Right now I am focusing my energy on finishing the longest bus ride of my life. The only other ride I have been on this long was a train I took from Rome, Italy to Madrid, Spain in 2004. We made it to Santiago and I am extremely glad to be here. Our hostel is very cool and chill and I am currently drinking some beers with a few dudes we met here and our buddy Joey. We’ll go get some food shortly and then some more drinks I imagine. I’ll update later but enjoy the photos from the desert. Santiago is a huge city and its calling my name.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0644s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb